You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Santa: You Better Watch Out!

in #psychology7 years ago

A few weeks ago I was listening to a podcast and there was an older, German philosopher (I cannot remember the name) who talked about how every German child lost their innocence in history class. It wasn't until then that they realised that their parents must have known what was happening in their country despite what they had told to the children.

The harmless lies people tell their children you summed up in your last line:

I never loved them as much after that and I guess that's just the karmic price they (and I) had to pay for their ignorance.

At what point does the ignorance of tradition leave and make way for the beauty of sensitivity instead?

Sort:  

Thank you for commenting and the upvote. I'm still crying in the wilderness on Steemit.

History is one of those "truths" that I'm very skeptical about. History is written by the victors, so I'm not surprised that German children learned something different in school than at home, but that's a discussion for another post.

At what point does the ignorance of tradition leave and make way for the beauty of sensitivity instead?

One can only hope that we are slowly but surely moving in that direction. Traditions will meld as they always have as the cultures of the world melt into each other. Hopefully, we can take the best from each and discard the slag that is left over.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66852.45
ETH 2597.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66