Psychological Pyromaniac

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Someone has probably said something to you that has made you look or feel foolish. At the time, you may have stood there befuddled (yep, befuddled) unable to think of a witty retort quickly enough and remained silent or maybe attempted something that didn't really work well.

Have you ever found a better comeback for their statement? Only, it was hours too late? Why is this? Why didn't it come at the time and even if you managed a half decent response at the time, how come the better one didn't surface when needed?

What do you do when you face a problem? Solve it probably. And then what?

Generally, after we put out a problem fire, we pat ourselves on the back for a job well done and get on with the day. The problem I see here is the same one with the witty comeback above except, missing the follow up.

The reason we do the follow up thinking when teased is that we are trying to soothe an emotional hurt. We work to prove to our self that if given better conditions, we could have bested our antagonist. We look to go about closing mental loops and saving our feelings.

The problem when it comes to problem solving, is that we solve the problem. We succeeded in besting it which means there is no reason to follow up on the solution we implemented. We just move on without ever knowing if we could have found a more suitable resolution if conditions had been better, if we had been given more time.

My approach is to be a psychological pyromaniac. This means that even if I find a suitable solution, I take it off the table and find another, and another. I continue lighting mental fires and increase the complexity to further challenge and find more possible outcomes.

Of course, if there are several problems at hand that are time sensitive and require an immediate, satisfactory solution, I solve and move on to the next in line. I try and return and light my mental fires again later when time allows. I have started doing this exercise with some clients too to see if will help their solution depth. So far it is looking promising.

There are many benefits in taking the time to do this. It gives feedback of course and perhaps a better solution if the problem comes up again. It stretches mental processes and allows more lateral thinking across issues and it builds a potential playbook of solutions to deal with a wide range of situations.

One more benefit is that it combats the development of problem solving by habit. This is applying the same solution to similar problems. It is rare that two things are identical and therefore applying the same solution from one to the other will get inconsistent results but if there is a broader and deeper view of problems and a range of audible solutions to choose from, speed of recognition and definition is faster and solutions better suited.

This can be applied to many areas and can be practiced anywhere and in time, the processing to run through simulations of variants gets faster. From the outside looking in, the people that are able to quickly solve problems effectively are often the most sought after in most fields as they are seen as adaptable and useful in volatile conditions and seem to see challenges before they arise.

I am not sure if this process will work for everyone but it has been beneficial to me over the years so thought it worth sharing with the Steemit crowd. This is a quickly growing platform and problems will come thick and fast as pressure gets applied from various sources. The better we think and solve, the more successful we are. Plus, this may be useful in the walking world for many people also as they face the day to day challenges of life, whether at work or at home. 

There are many variations to try in this and with a little practice I think that most will be able to adjust and adapt it for their own purposes. If willing, try it on for a while and let me know how you go with it.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. I don't know if I will get it right. It is so satisfactory after finding the first solution, that it seems impossible another one can exist. I am going to keep this advice in mind and see if I can apply it next time when searching for solutions.

It is satisfying isn't it? This is why I have been developing this process because I found that upon further investigation, there was nearly always a better solution if I had spent the time. Often, the need and rush is so great we are pushed to fix and continue but I think most of us can do better, most of the time.

Totally awesome this shot. In love.

Thank you :)

Many of the solutions that I find only come after sleep. My mind gets cluttered with the noise of other "stuff". But on occasion, when a solution is required, I simply must pound my head against the wall (problem) until the wall falls down. Multiple solutions are only required if the first solution has an obvious flaw or perhaps a flaw is discovered when the first solution is implemented. But then I am an exceptionally clear thinker after so many years of practice (LOL).

It is like that face you see in the street but can't put a name to at the time. 2am and you wake up remembering it. The brain keeps working to close the loop.

When a problem is satisfactorily solved (according to the needs), the loop is closed. No more thoughts required.

As unlikely as it is, I am hoping through practice I can reach the clarity of thought you have already attained.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60728.44
ETH 2653.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59