You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Avoid Buying Products that Only Serve as a Social Signal

in #psychology7 years ago

That's a great message but I have one exception I think worth mentioning. If you are buying higher priced goods that, actually, do something good.

You could buy a deisgner $100 tshirt or a pack of tshirts for $10 or you could spend $25 and get a Krochet Kids tshirt that is made by a non-profit working to improve the lives of women in developing countries.

I personally hope that companies truly making a positive impact, beyond just selling a nice widget, becomes the new form of social signaling.

Sort:  

I agree, I also dont disagree if you want to look fashionable and like spending money on clothes, just there is a point where things become ridiculous. You can get nice fashionable clothes, the problem is when you start spending thousands and peacocking everyone trying to get them to say "oh hes rich I like him"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63956.43
ETH 3320.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92