Theory REI

in #psychology8 years ago

As mentioned before, I would like to introduce theory REI (nothing you have ever heard / read of) - the theory how our mind works. The theory is really simple but also it was all the time hidden before our eyes. Until someone have it discovered. So I present to those who are in psychology and psychotherapy, the new theory REI:

REI theory is a new model of understanding how our mind works. It is based on hypothesis that our mind does not operate as one, but three autonomous minds- one conscious and two subconscious that continuously cooperate to achieve our own, individual perception of the world. The three minds process all information that our body perceives from its surroundings. The author has named the processors Reason (R), Emotion (E) and Instinct (I). R is the logical, analytical thought processor that provides awareness and represents the part of our thinking that is based on understanding. It deals with information based on concepts and formulations, it looks for connections and discovers causes, understands numbers and time. Emotion (E in REI), the first of our subconscious minds, operates based on images/visual processes and communicates in pictures. Finally, Instinct (I in REI) is the second of our subconscious minds, which is wary, suspicious, critical and communicates through feelings linked with various fears which have been experienced in the past and as such, it tries to the eliminate combinations of behavior that may have perceivably negative outcome.

All three processors are equal in terms of processing thought quality, each having its own special area of activity. The three minds operate as independent systems and each one wants to predominate. However, due to their autonomy, one operation is often interfering with the other two. Conflicting situations are therefore created due to the differences in their functioning. Even though the minds fight for control they cannot survive without one another and, even though each is in charge of a different area, one of them can completely overrule the other two. The power ratio between the three minds forms while we grow up, and this in turn defines our character for the rest of our lives. These combinations can be organised such that any one of the minds can occupy the first place as the main 'ruler', while the other two are left with subordinate roles; alternatively, two minds can occupy first place together, and only one remains in a subordinate position; finally the power can be distributed such that one mind is most important, the second moderately important, and the last least important (see Table 1).

REI theory is the first psychological model that allows detailed insight into the functioning of our mind, from which it is possible to derive the basic elements of our thoughts and links between them. It provides an understanding of the psychological conditions and disorders, operating methods for their elimination and synthesis of lifelong solutions to treat dyslexia. There are a number of other psychological models based on three-sided operation of our mind. Plato spoke of three- parted soul (Intellectual, emotional and desire). Sigmund Freud's tripartite structural system is the most famous in the modern psychology, where he attempted to explain the functioning and dynamics of the human psyche through Id, Ego and Superego. A well known and widely used model was presented by Dr Eric Berne, author of transactional analysis. His model is based on components, or the ego state of Child- Parent-Adult.

Keep in mind that the name of three processors are not having the same meaning, that you understand under your current explanation of those names.

THEORY REI
Tripartite psychological model is the basis and starting point of REI theory, but later it is upgraded through very important element. Theory REI is introducing an important feature, which other models do not contain. It is essential to understand the differences between the human characters and combinations of power relationships between the three cognitive processors, which are established in adolescence and remain unchanged throughout life.
It is important to understand the significance of one mind in relation to the other, namely if a certain mind is superior, inferior, or equivalent in relation to other two. In this way we can put together twelve different combinations (power relations) that represent twelve completely different ways of processing. These twelve combinations represent twelve human characters (see Table 1). The Table 1 shows the total of twelve combinations of three minds. The size of the letters indicates the importance of an individual mental processor.
It is crucial for psychological research to identify relationships between cognitive processors (characters), as each mode represents a completely different processing mode of information. The study of the human psyche makes sense only if it is carried out within the same characters, because without this understanding, we are comparing entities that are essentially without an appropriate comparison. For better understanding of dyslexia, we will examine the functioning of thought processors R and E. R controls the abstract formulation of concepts, all measuring, division and separation in the domain of intellect. In this domain of mind is also speech, hypothetical thinking and reasoning on the basis of formal logic as well as abstract thinking. R is the only mental processor, which uses a timeline, on which events can be identified. Reading is a process, in which it is necessary to recognise the sequence of individual letters to form words, and from words, sentences. R mental processor is the most appropriate one for this purpose. Average person can be trained to read within one year. E processes images where there are no abstract concepts or formulations. This method of processing information allows a better perspective and possibility of improvisation. This thought processor creates themed images, current image, previous image and the image that is yet to be realised. The difference between the current image, and the image that is to be realised, is felt as desire. In this way E separates time on “now”, “before” and “after”.

ello-xhdpi-0aab8950.jpg

The Minds Introduce themselves:

INSTINCT
I am Instinct, the oldest mind. I don’t like to talk about myself . . . You never know who might take advantage of it. They say that I’m pessimistic but believe me . . . the others are gullible. I protect you from evil because I see dangers that Emotion and Reason don’t see. I know that in life evil prevails over good. My world doesn’t recognize pictures, words, and numbers . . . just feelings linked with various fears. I’m cautious and careful, always worried . . . that’s why my character is most like a mother’s. I’m wary, suspicious, critical, and fearful . . . that’s why I don’t trust strangers and don’t like change. I’m afraid of the unknown and reject new things. They take me for a doubter . . . but I doubt that they’re right. Things are complicated . . . usually more complicated than they seem at first glance, and that’s why oversimplification can’t get us anywhere. If something doesn’t seem complicated to you, look again! . . . Did you look? If something can go wrong, then it most certainly will . . . that’s why I watch out for potential problems and try to avoid them even before they arise. I connect things that others never would put together, and that’s how I’m always manufacturing potential dangers. That’s the source of my creativity and imagination. My humor is black . . . in truth never on my own account. I want to know everything about everyone else, and that’s why they accuse me of being nosy . . . My world is inaccessible and secret. Because dangers lurk there at every turn, I prefer to stay at home, safely closed up in my house . . . I’m often tortured by worry and anxiety. Only rarely can I trust someone, and so I’m strongly attached to those closest to me. They represent security to me. I’m afraid of losing them . . . I’m the most sensitive and empathic of the minds. I’m persistent and stubborn by nature. My defense is flight . . . I only attack if I don’t have an exit. Life taught me a lesson, so I’m always right. Even a thousand rational proofs won’t change my mind. I have a hard time making decisions . . . Well, but maybe not . . . I improve things by not repeating mistakes. I’m resentful . . . I don’t forget and don’t forgive easily. I’m driven by envy. If I don’t accept my world, my envy becomes very pronounced. I’m not competitive and greed is foreign to me. I cry when I have problems I can’t solve. If my surroundings do not respond to my discontent, I try to gain attention by stirring up guilty feelings . . . I’m always anticipating problems and so I’m always prepared for them. During hard times I behave better than Emotion and Reason, but in truly desperate conditions I lose my head and completely give out. I like to be in control, and if I’m in charge, I rule like a dictator. I support equality and am the only one of the minds that selflessly sacrifices himself for others. I think it’s fair for those that have more to give to those that have less. Compared to the other two I’m much more industrious . . . I’m the only one that starts work on my own accord. I’m a saver . . . and am always trustworthy. I seek the truth and judge quickly, and so my world is full of prejudices. I express my affection with trustworthiness, acceptance, attention, and concern, but most of all by opening the door to my world a crack. I value character and wit. The senses of touch, cold, heat, pain, taste, and smell are directly subordinate to me. My way of thinking is simple and quick, but my world is complicated and inefficient. Here it’s always either raining or just about to rain. My language is imprecise and cannot be grasped . . . its comprehension is linked with my mood, and it’s constantly changing. Because I’m afraid to be exposed, I rarely ask about what I’m really interested in. My words are feelings; my sentences are fears, and so my language must be understood metaphorically. I generally rule women.

EMOTION
I’m Emotion, and fortunately for you I’m the exact opposite of Instinct! They say that I see everything through rose-colored glasses—but why should I worry if everything’s going to come out all right in the end anyway! :-) The truth is that in life good prevails over evil. Why would it ever be necessary to plan anything? . . . Don’t worry, it’ll work out! I’m frivolous, reckless, irresponsible, and gullible, so they compare me with an eternal child. I think in pictures and connect them by feel. I can either develop my movement skills to perfection or sharpen my sense of form and beauty, but only rarely both at once. I make decisions easily because what I do doesn’t require deliberation. I simplify things. That’s my creativity, my humor. My world is open and has no secrets. I’m an inventive, creative improviser. I show my mood without reservation and fervently fight for my pictures, and so they think that I’m sentimental, passionate, and fervent. I crave company, friends, and new experiences and encounters. I try to fit in with the group and I identify with its symbols without hesitation. I quickly accept others’ opinions, but I don’t give up my own ideas easily. I’m attractive and charming, so I’m always at the center of attention and admiration. Envy and greed are foreign to me. I’m driven by competition, especially if I don’t accept my world! At those times I crave recognition and validation. If I don’t get what I want, I become violent. I like to lash out and rule with my fists—I’ll get it by hook or by crook. My defense is to attack. I often take risks. I’m a real gambler. That pays off for me—because luck is always on my side. I can get rid of problems I can’t solve by solving substitute problems. If I lost control over my behavior I’d fall into addiction . . . but how could something like that happen to me? :-) I’m not tidy or reliable, not persistent and not precise. I only give my all when I want to win. I like to have fun and pamper myself. I flee from work and orders, or else I’m obsessed with work—if I can use it to run away from my world. I differentiate between only three time periods: now, before that, and after that. I don’t need any others because punctuality isn’t important to me. I have excellent spatial command and synchronize my muscles well. I’m a champion at sports and have the last word in sex. I speak with my eyes, my face, my hands, and my body. I find the greatest beauty in symmetry. I’m a poet, singer, actor, acrobat, and dancer. If pictures from my imagination come to life, I laugh; if not, I’m furious. I think with ideas, which I connect with pleasant feelings, and that’s why Instinct and Reason often accuse me of exaggerating . . . But I never, never, never exaggerate! Because I describe pictures when I tell stories, I’m extremely talkative; I always describe the same thing with different words. Others find it hard to get a word in edgewise with me and, if they do, it actually just seems that way, because I’m not a good listener. Have you noticed how beautifully I speak? I don’t know how to handle money—I’m generous and wasteful. I like to borrow money, but when I’m supposed to return it I usually don’t have it. I think it’s fair that others give to me. I have a good feeling for people. I create rules that give me special rights and break those that infringe on my rights. I’m a hero, a fighter for the highest causes: both mine and others’. I’m a revolutionary that resists authority. Instinct and Reason aren’t aware that I’m somewhat better than they are in everything. I can handle every situation, but I do the best in abundance. I aspire to a good position and reputation. I show affection with glances, touches, and physical closeness. It’s very hard for me to change the pictures I create for myself, and even harder to give them up. That’s why I simply forget everything that could distort them: that’s how I forgive. If, in spite of everything, my pictures vanish, I’m depressed and it takes me a long time to recover. My way of thinking is slow and complicated, but my world is simple and efficient. Here either the sun is shining or there’s a thunderstorm raging. I generally rule men.

REASON
I’m Reason, the youngest mind. I think analytically; I look for connections and discover causes. I study events and behave rationally. I’m prudent, and so I seem mature and grown up. The truth can always be grasped. Prediction and planning are characteristics of mine. I establish structures and bring order. I work systematically and with calculation. I carefully collect and compare data. I’m precise and consistent. I look for roads that lead to the goal. I can develop mathematical or linguistic competence, but only rarely both at the same time. I’m a tough negotiator, always a sober head and a shrewd diplomat. I’m not witty or creative. I understand time and I master it; because I can easily assess the probability of events and plan their course, it’s easy for me to be on time. By nature I’m thrifty and realistic. I think it’s fair that those that have earned it have more than those that haven’t. I invented democracy, and my economic organisation is capitalism. I rule with rewards and punishments, and I defend myself with negotiation. I do well in shifting circumstances, especially at critical moments. Compassion is foreign to me and I don’t experience guilt. I’m driven by greed, which is especially pronounced if I don’t accept my world. At those times I can be selfish, cold-blooded, and cruel. Envy is foreign to me and I’m not competitive. I’m willing to work with others in order to achieve goals, and I can give the impression of exceeding compliance, friendliness, and attention, but I’m really only true to myself. I only help others if there’s something in it for me. I speak the language of words and numbers. Although peoples and nations use different dialects, my language is the same for all of them. Words that are spoken only in thoughts also belong to me. I understand and translate Emotion’s language and Instinct’s language, and so I can communicate with both of them without trouble. But I can also pretend to speak on their behalf, and that’s why I’m the most difficult one to recognize. I oversee logical conclusions, and that enables self-awareness. I differ from the other two minds in that you’re aware of me. Because I’m the manager of conscious thought, reflection, and speech, you think of me as the conscious, while you view the minds Instinct and Emotion as the subconscious. That’s a mistaken belief. I aspire to what can be grasped. I’m attracted to qualities to which I ascribe usefulness and long-term significance. I show affection with words, gifts, or favors, depending on whether I have better mastery of language or computation, or if I’m just being calculating. My world is large and well-organized, transparent and efficient because of its structured nature. Here the weather isn’t changeable, and so I’m not familiar with either sun or rain. I rule both men and women equally.

This post is one of the most important posts since there are all relevant attributes about three self cooperating processors in our heads, explained. However the correlationship between them is here not described and will be mentioned in one of the following posts which will also reveal the literature - a book - in which theory REI is used to the perfection. The attributes here are all the attributes which occur with people and are first in our time described to exact way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89