The Reset Button for Life: If you had to live again, would you do exactly the same thing?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #psychology7 years ago

Supposedly all of us have asked ourselves whether there is something that we would do over again if we had the chance. 

YES, you are absolutely right: we cannot change the past! But we can benefit from a critical self-reflection in order to do better in the future. Looking back doesn´t mean we are LOST in our memories and unable to live in the presence. It is rather a good sign of a focussed and decisive personality.  

If there was a reset button for life, would do change anything? 

Would I do that again? 

The 'Would I do it again?' question has a limited scope since it attaches to a specific situation or happening. This is a actually a good question for each of us to ask. We can benefit from a critical self-reflection about our motivations, actions, and consequences of these actions. 

Friedrich Nietzsche, the great German philosopher, cultural critic, poet and philologist, got one step further and asked the following: 

"What, if some day or night a demon were to steal after you into your loneliest loneliness and say to you: 'This life as you now live it and have lived it, you will have to live once more and innumerable times more; and there will be nothing new in it, but every pain and every joy and every thought and sigh and everything unutterably small or great in your life will have to return to you, all in the same succession and sequence! (...)' 

Would you not throw yourself down and wish that demon had never appeared? Or would you be that well disposed craving nothing more wishfully  than this ultimate eternal confirmation to live the exact same life over and over again? 

Even painful memories can be turned into a positive some day

I go with Julie Wright here: 'What doesn´t kill us gives us something new to write about.'

Remember that every step you have made in the past has led you to what you have become today. I bet there are a lot of things in your present life you wouldn´t wanna miss! That´s it. When something negative occurs we don´t look at the shape of things to come in the future, we just focus on the current problem and are unable to take any pleasure in it. 

Regardless, even the biggest mistake will pave our future way. 

Self-reflection is an awesome cleaning process!  

Sometimes it is good to just stop and ponder. 

It's very easy for busy ambitious people like us to get lost in the day, week, month... Some of us are so driven that we blink and a whole year is gone. When New Year´s Eve comes closere we are like 'Oh what? Another year has passed by. Can´t believe that!' 

I have absolutely no issue with being driven, creative, inventive and productive. I, myself, LOVE to accomplish and engage in new ideas, activities and opportunities continuously. But I also like very much to feel connected to who I am and the people I conscientiously choose to include in my life. 

“If I had to live again I would do exactly the same thing.
Of course I have regrets, but if you are 60 years old and you have no regrets then you haven’t  lived.”
Christy Moore  

We all make mistakes! 

As a matter of course all people make mistakes at some point in their lives. These mistakes make up part of our memories, thoughts and mindset. 

Reflecting on our memories and the past helps to free our mind and wash away all the negative memories. 

Through self-reflection, we can get rid of negative attachments and attain a peaceful state of the mind. Then we may be able to think more clearly and make informed decisions to avoid repeating past mistakes. 

The supreme discipline: try to laugh about your own failure. It puts mistakes into the right perspective and takes off the emotional baggage. 

Looking back keeps us grounded. 


I strongly believe that I have a hand in my own destiny, although I obviously can´t have total control about it since there are things in Earth which are more powerful than us. It actually occurs with some aspect of design rather than total default. Even simply thinking through who I wish to be in 5 years is helpful for making important decisions that lead me down a preferred path. 

Self-reflection also improves our social skills! 

It may, at times, be useful to think that our actions don´t really matter to others, but of course they do. Don´t we wanna be a righteous person who deserves a certain respect? 

In order to be that person you would like to be in the eye´s of others, you have to review your behavior from time to time and ponder improvements. This includes showing more gratitude and appreciation wherever possible. 

To be honest I am very selective about the people with whom I spend my time. At one point of time I decided that I want my relationships - both in my private and professional life - to be deep, fun and meaningful. That means that I have to contribute significantly to the party. 

Again, we all make mistakes - even in the relationships we most care about (because we didn´t know better at that specific point of time) - but then it´s about doing one step back, being self-critical, forget about the own ego and fix it. 

Looking back isn´t easy sometimes. But it´s going to make us even more human. 


* * * * * * *  The end   * * * * * * * 

Sometimes it is good to just stop and ponder. We can benefit from a critical self-reflection in order to keep us grounded and don´t make the same mistakes twice. Looking back is also an act of self-esteem since our personality is shaped by the sum of our experiences. Accepting even the supposedly wrong decisions we have made in the past, helps us to feel more confident. 'Nothing ever goes away until it has taught us what we need to know.'   

Thanks for your attention and happy weekend, Steemians!
I´ll go surfing now and leave you with another quote from Nietzsche...
Enjoy the dance :)
Marly -


Picture sources:
Title: https://i.ytimg.com/
Girl at forest: http://kizitora.jp/
Animated GIF: http://mediaresources.idiva.com/
Rather look back quote: https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/
Surfer girl looking back: http://cruiserbikesreviews.com/
Treat others quote: http://theoplife.com/
Music quote:
http://68.media.tumblr.com/

IMG_671410d34.jpg

Sort:  

Oh thank you, that´s incredibly nice!!! :)

If I had to do everything again, I would probably still end up in a similar place to where I am now. I don't have too many regrets, sure I've made mistakes, but if I did everything over I may correct those, but rest assured I'd find whole new things to screw up.

I would probably still end up in a similar place to where I am now

Yeah, I absolutely believe the same about my life and am quite grateful for being in that situation.
Thanks for stopping by and leaving your comment :)

What I regret most is hiding from life for too long. Being too introvert and satisfied with doing nothing and playing video games. I missed so much. But I'm making up for that now! Can't change the past only shape my own future now. That's where my focus is today.

Hang out with extrovert women more and stay away from those video games haha ! I think you are awesome !

Haha @mammasitta after your 'dream men post' you are totally into it :-))

I am in a silly mood indeed. Maybe I watch too much USA news about a very dangerous and narcissistic man @surfermarly. I have to remind myself of the many good men !

Yes you should!!! There are plenty of them :-)) I have just switched off TV and am on my way to the beach to check some pretty surfers hahaha

Life is moving in waves. Sometimes we just need a break, retire from that busy social life and simply enjoy video gaming or whatever makes us happy. And then another period starts and we are willing to get out of that cave again. I think that´s very human :)
Thanks for leaving your comment, enjoy your Sunday!!

I have a hunch we'll find out all about the choices we made, who we became, why we did what we did, most likely in an instant, stretched out to a sufficient portion of infinity. I've had a bird's eye view on my life a time or two already, thanks to the wonderful medicine the earth has to offer. I will say a healthy course correction is always valuable. It seems there's always more to let go of, that isn't you, that doesn't serve. Looking back, I'm pretty happy with the way things have turned out so far, follies and all... I just turned 40 this past year, and it has caused me to stop and consider the path I have walked, more than a few times. I'm ready for Act II, and III, however it goes, I will try to show up with a deep breath, and open eyes... onward!

Oh I enjoyed very much reading your wise words, thank you!

a healthy course correction is always valuable. It seems there's always more to let go of, that isn't you, that doesn't serve.

That´s so true - underlining the word healthy. When the years pass by, we get more and more aware of what´s really good to us - and what is not. Holding on from time to time and releasing some unneeded ballast is quite liberating.
Again, thank you very much for your inspiring comment! Enjoy your weekend! :)

I would do exactly the same but with a bit more brain suppprt hahha !
Very nice article and thoughts

Haha, sometimes we just need to grow a bit older to become a bit wiser :)
Thanks for your kind words and support! Enjoy your Sunday!!

Even thought there are things that I could have done better or differently, I wouldn't. Simply because everything that has happened has led me to this point. I have done good things for myself and I have a wonderful boyfriend who I would never risk not meeting.

Fantastic! I am really happy for you!

everything that has happened has led me to this point

I absolutely agree and am grateful just as well :)
Thanks for stopping by and leaving your nice comment here. Enjoy the day!

upvoted!
great post, it's hard to say what/if anything id do differently ..

Thank you @doitvoluntarily, I appreciate your kind support!
It´s surely not an easy question. Maybe you don´t know the answer since there is nothing you should change...:)
Have a good weekend!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $29.00 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 28 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I often reflect on this - If I could go back in time to change one thing...
And then one day I did an exercise in working backwards. What was the last "life altering" decision I made. What was the second choice? Did I make the right one? Yes? Okay. Go back to the next "life altering choice". And so the exercise went until I went as far back as my memory could take me.
And what I realized was I would not change a single thing.
Well... That's a lie. There is literally only ONE thing I would change and I've promised myself it would be my ONLY regret in life - but beyond the pain in my heart, it would not have changed the ripple effect of anything else in my life... And that's the way I would like to remain.

Thank you for your wonderful comment, @merej99! That´s a really nice exercise, and I am happy for your result :) I also have ONE single thing I wouldn´t repeat since it caused me a lot of pain. But even for that one I am a little bit grateful since it showed me where my personal limits are.
Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and thoughts! Have a joyful and pleasant weekend :)

Ha! That guy in the very first picture's name is Rhett from Rhett & Link's "Good Mythical Morning", a Youtube series that's like a video podcast. They're funny.

Here's one where they both ate a Carolina Reaper. Fun times. :)

LOL!!! I had no idea who he is to be honest :-D That video is hilarious, thank you!
We sell Carolina Reaper seeds in our business. So every time I´ll hold them in my hands from now on, I´ll probably start laughing - thanks for that!!
Enjoy your (spicy) weekend :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23