You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let’s talk about the fear of dentists.

in #psychology6 years ago

I actually don't have a fear of the dentist. Even though at one point they couldn't take a particular tooth out and gave me 7 numbing injections because I could still feel the pain. In the end they pulled out, I kid you not, a screwdriver from a top draw. They shoved it in my mouth to help yank out my tooth lol. I was only 11 or 12 years old at that time.

Though I do have a fear of going to the GP for an injection in the arm. I've avoided having a blood test for many many years. Gave up a possible scholarship because of it too. But I am not sure why an injection in the mouth is fine.

Sort:  

In the end they pulled out, I kid you not, a screwdriver from a top draw.

What that sounds extreme! Really hard for a 11 yo not to be scared in that situation haha

I've avoided having a blood test for many many years

I also was afraid of injections when I was very young, but this is a fear that is diminished over time. Now having an injection is completely easy, but of course, uncomfortable. Just as the dentist.

lol it was pretty extreme, I think I was more shocked than anything to register what was going on at the time. But it did work, my tooth came out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 59288.97
ETH 3114.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39