SELFISHNESS VRS SELFLESSNES CHOOSE [MY ENTRY INTO THE MUGHAT ESSAY CONTEST]

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)




MY VIEW ON SELFISHNESS


As a christian one thing i learn't is the principle of giving. With high level of sensitization, you will always see some struggling to pay on weekly basis. I recall when I decided no to offer offering because I had other use for it, my daddy then time punished me.He was of the view that I must learn the virtue of giving to support the work of God. We were sensitized also on the need for us to give to support our brothers. Though it feel so good to help your brother who is in need in your society or church, sometimes you wish you did not help. People are of the view that selfishness is bad, but after reading Ayn RAND's" Virtue of SELFISHNESS", I am beginning to accept the fact that some high degree of selfishness is not bad.Though as a christian it disrupt my personal view on selfishness I have also come to the realization that, when you give irrationally you end up very depressed. Some people in society dedicated most of their their time seeking for the welfare of others but are latter neglected when they needed the society most. Some have been rejected massively and a left depressed wandering on our streets and our homes. I recall what happened to my own uncle. He was a generous and selfless man who will remove what is inside the mouth for others to eat, but when he fell sick the family ignored him. Honestly I realize that some high level of selfishness is good, because if my uncle have spent his income taking good care of himself like the others did, he will not be finding himself in his current predicament. Honestly, I recall when I was sleepless working on projects, others were like why are you suffering? Because they were expecting me to go by their course and it seem i acted differently in my own self-interest. Immediately I got the delegation I had a lot of people commending me for working hard but these were the very people who thought I will fail. Acting on ones own individual interest is rewarding and can be beneficial to ones life.

AYN RAND VIEW ON SELFISHNESS



She was of the view that people should live their life as individuals depending solely on their natural ability and their rational decision making. Yea it is clear from here that she believes that self-interest should be hailed in ones life and people should begin to depend solely on their own capability to function. She further hailed people who acted on their personal interest not those of others or those of a certain group they find themselves in. She added that their interest are what will benefit them.
She also placed emphasis on human right, saying that every human posses the natural right to live and that is applicable to society. It may even be that the kind of society one is living in seen optimal, but she believed people should still live for themselves and not necessarily for others. Her theory really contradict theological views and religious views as a whole. She believe that that we are not living for any supreme being and she believe that protection of individual right is paramount. Acting on ones own interest and not allowing others to influence and re-direct one's course in life makes one selfish but being selfish doesn't make you a bad person as long us one is able to achieve his or her goals.

Sort:  

Thanks for the post. Ayn Rand is a woman. Just so you know.

aynrand_AF.jpg

Loading...

WOW This is a great start to a great new essay contest style post template. I can see this template being used to inspire steemians to learn and write essays for money! Its very promising and I can only imagine we will have our own building very soon for Steem School!

Thanks seniormost. I was too fast on the keyboard and skipped me completely. Will make sure i don't make such mistakes in the future.

Good corrections, but nobody above mistake...

Good write up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66