You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What if we are fighting because we want the same thing?

in #psychology7 years ago

Thanks for sharing openly.
Having five little ones, including a set of twins, makes this a near constant reality in our house.

I love this:

For my daughters, both want to be the apple of my eye. They forget, I have two eyes. So they are vying for positions they already have and tearing each other down to lessen one another’s potential access to my love.

I think I forget sometimes that kids literally live in fantasy worlds. That is not to demean them, but to recognize that their view of reality is usually far from the truth. I've been learning that I sometimes need to enter into the fantasy (not affirm it as true, but validate it as their lived experience) in order to help them work through the distress.

Another great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55