You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Games Boys Play, Like Rape

in #psychology6 years ago

What a f***ing gut punch. Thank you for this piece. As a dad to four girls (and a baby boy now!) this scares the shit out of me. Also, as someone who was sexually "traumatized" as a boy (still wrestling with owning my vernacular: assault, abuse, rape?), I really really appreciate your perspective here on how this sets the stage for fragmentation when a boy or man is raped.

The fact that kids who have no sexual experience at all are pretending to rape people for fun is a Really Big Deal. ... They are buying toxic masculinity wholesale and selling it for a profit.

It is a big deal, and you're right, it should not be surprising in the culture they are steeped in. I honestly don't know how I would respond, but this is an important reminder for me to not simply wait and hope that day never comes. EVEN IF my kids are not exposed directly to it, their friends will be and the conversation needs to be had. You can't live in this world and be unaffected by rape culture.

Lastly, thank you very much for daring to be vulnerable (#BrenéBrown). It means a lot and helps others.

Sort:  

This response is deeply encouraging. Thank you. I’m sorry for your trauma and glad you felt represented in this conversation.

You’re right. We can’t wait until the topic comes to us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79