You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Schizophrenia is NOT a Real Illness; More Psychiatric Survivors will Surface

in #psychology8 years ago

I hear voices, and was only able to see them as useful pieces of my brain and balance the need to demonize them as crazy talk or spiritualize them by reading Muses, Madmen and Prophets by Daniel Smith. As a neurodiversity supporter and special ed teacher, it was all about how the person coped with this culture and society, and providing equal parts coping techniques and changing pieces of society to make it easier for them. I can listen to my voices if people are quiet and allow me to space out, or talk with them in my religious practice, and they won't cause me trouble as long as I am in a fair to good mental state, so lots of meditation and not lying to myself, or else the voices will be there to force me to look at what I'm trying to run from.

Sort:  

I really love this perspective, Sorc. Thank you for sharing. I am also a strong advocate of the neurodiversity movement as well as acknowledging that people may have "mad gifts," as the Icarus Project people put it.

Thank you for sharing.

@sorcpenz that is a book I need to read! Thank for that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56905.43
ETH 2398.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26