You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mini Motivation #49 - Can people be honest with you?

in #psychology7 years ago

I once lost a friend, because I was honest. She had trouble finding a job. I liked her, but she appeared kind of weird. And she sent out a lot of job requests and was called for a conversation almost every time. And almost every time, she was declined.

I told her that she could appear a little strange, because I wanted to help her.

She didn't appreciate my help, and I never heard from her again.

But yes, I prefer people to be honest to me, and I think they are. That's my impression at least.

Sort:  

Well, maybe your friend just couldn't handle it. I've seen coaches to this too. Sometimes they would ask me, "Can I give you a feedback back?", and when I agreed, I got good value from them, usually their observations and perspective, which I valued.

However, when I do have something honest to share with them, and even if they said yes to "Can I give you a feedback?", they get very defensive. Well, I guess not every one is open to be shown a mirror, eh?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68787.38
ETH 2733.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72