You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shame and disordered eating

in #psychology6 years ago

Ha! Disordered eating for me is starving myself by either reducing the number of calories I eat to around 200-300 per day. (The recommendation is about 2,000 for a person my size) or increasing my exercise so that, even though I'm eating, I'm still not being nourished. It can also look like bingeing (eating everything in sight in an out of control way OR a very controlled way despite not being hungry), vomiting up what you have eaten to control weight, or eating only certain types or qualities of food.

I know you were joking a bit, but this is a really good question and I'm glad you asked!

Sort:  

Wow, your reply is very enlightening. And certainly i do not eat everything 😂. But i do love beans and i eat them alot

vomiting up what you have eaten to control weight.
Is this also a disordered eating or a way of your body saying you ate too much or ate wrong stuffs?

When it is an eating disorder, the vomiting (or purging) is done on purpose to prevent the body from digesting the food eaten. A person may do this after eating very little, or after eating a lot. Some people actually only chew food and then spit it out to prevent their bodies from keeping the calories. It’s often shame-driven, meaning that the person purging might believe they don’t deserve food.

Of course, our body does protect us by naturally expelling toxic foods, but that is something we generally do not have control over.

Thank you for another great question!

Wow, thank you so much for your replies and time ma'am shawnamawna, i really learnt alot😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49