Grounding Yoga for Writing through Trauma

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Yulia Azriel is a Bloomington yogini who runs Gentle Heart Yoga and Wellness in Bloomington, IN. She regularly offers wellness retreats along with her husband, Gabriel Lantz.

Yulia intended to lead yoga at one of my retreats, but our schedules didn't match up. Instead, she created this amazing video so that all of my students can continue their trauma work from home with a reusable grounding tool. Originally, it was going to be shared only with class participants, but Yulia is the gentle heart she named her business for, and she asked if I would like her to make this public so that everyone can benefit.

Of course I would!

I will have an interview with Yulia on my site at a future date. For now, let me say that her yoga style brings you deep into body awareness and relaxation. Yulia always offers a safe space. When you follow her instruction, let go of self-consciousness and allow her to support you as you reconnect.

Use this video before and after any stirring writing session.

For another grounding option, see my post on relief objects. Feel free to keep an object or totem with you as you move through these yoga poses. Bring it to your writing space as a way to keep "grounding" with you.

How do you ground yourself when you write on difficult topics?

Sort:  

I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

@alchemage has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

one of the best help,,,,,,
thanks for sharing......////////

Yulia is amazing. I hope you find this practice helpful.

thanks for the video

Yulia is a talented instructor. :) Glad you are learning from her.

I just searched yoga because I want to get back into it and this popped up! I must have missed this on your blog. I’m looking forward to trying this one.

I swear every day I find another reason to be thankful that we crossed paths on steemit. 😊

I am feeling the same thing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77