You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Modern Society Obsessed With Short Term Pleasure?

Unfortunately, with anything there are negatives along with positives. In our current world of social media everything is instant gratification to the Nth degree. Cell phones too!

There is no anticipation, no build up. Ex. - In college, I would call my girlfriend at the time before I left to drive back up to school. Then I'd have to wait 3 hrs to talk or see her again, thus anticipation, excitement could build up and you appreciate the moment when you get there more.

If it were now I could just be on my cell phone with her half the ride and then not even be amped up to see her when I arrived...LOL

Sort:  

Yes that is a very good point. Anticipation heightens the perception and magnitude of the reward.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55