Offense is What Grabs People's Attention While Defense Just Bores Them

I love when those little lightbulb moments happen and I can relate it to many things, including Crypto!

On new year's eve I was BBQing with some neighbors and we had a TV setup outside with the game on. The Falcons-Panthers was the only NFL game on.

It was a good game! At least that's what I thought. The score was tied 7-7 in the third quarter when a few of the guys said, is there any other game on - this game sucks!

To which I thought; this game is awesome. Its tied and they are going back and forth as each defense keeps coming up with big stops.

That's when it hit me...

People Want Offense. Defense Is Not Entertaining

Well at least to the majority it is not. And I am certainly not the majority. I see it in my sports preferences and especially in my investing and crypto trading.

Why Someone Unknowledgeable Gets More Attention

Offense (disguised with optimism and promotion) is what garners attention. This is why someone who knows very little about crypto or the technical principles of trading can still grab a large audience.

Think about it - who would you rather listen too?

The guy that is constantly doing videos saying XYZ crypto is going to the moon! HODL and buy more, don't miss this chance for millions!

Or this guy

XYZ has become overbought and formed a reversal pattern. I would take profits here and look to re-enter on a pull back

We all know the answer to this, whether we'd like to admit it or not :-)

The former is always going to garner more attention. It's just how we are built as human beings. Not saying there is anything wrong with it, just sharing an observation.

I love becoming more and more aware of human nature.


Learn to Invest Like The Cat

https://tradingeducationblogs.com/scg-crypto-investing/

I'm offering a $1 SBD rebate ($8 value now) with proof of sign up until this post pays out - get it before SBD drops any more!


steemittags.JPG

Best Regards,
600x150EmailHeader.jpg

Disclaimer: All content in this post is my opinion and for educational purposes.

Sort:  

The sport I am most into is sokkah, and just like in the US, it’s the poor, unpopular one. “There’s not enough scoring” is the line that gets pulled out the most. But I actually love some 0-0 games. Proper close, tactical battles that can change on the slightest mistake or moment of brilliance.

Trading has made me much more aware of human psych too. It’s actually made me a much more aware and rounded person. I love it :)

Yeah, trading has helped me recognize trends in society so much.

Maybe its the people with the outlandish projections that attract us because they appeal to our sense of fantasy. "What if they are right and I can make _____ off this?!" They generate or capitalize on the FOMO!

Exactly! FOMO struggle is real :-)

But, from a psychology standooint, aren't humans wired to focus more on negative things and fear? What if "XYZ has become overbought and formed a reversal pattern. I would take profits here and look to re-enter on a pull back" became "GET OUT NOW!! XYZ is about to crash - this could be your only chance for profits! Triple digit gains is great, don't wait till it's too late mate!" lol

Nice, I like it! That is a good spin to put on it. Much more attention grabbing.

So I guess the real moral of the story is - Being outlandish on either side is what grabs attention :-)

Add some boobs, and you could be the next super popular guru lol

Haha...my buddy has his hot girlfriend doing crypto videos. She went from 0 to 1k followers in less than a month!

Human nature continues to be a mystery to me. WHY must we be this way?

I guess in the end, despite all the evolution. We are simple creatures.

I so much love this

I definitely agree with you here. After I realised something like this, I changed the way that I promote my ideas to the people around, this will serve as a reminder to act in the "offensive" way that you mentioned! Thanks for the post :)

Yep, its something I now keep in mind when creating things.

I completely agree with you and that‘s also why active investing is much, much more famous than passive inversting because it is so boring to invest your money passive. There are no crazy Wall Street stories you can tell your colleagues in lunch break...

Humans are weird little creatures, indeed.

Haha great point! I can tell you that I've listened to some of these "feelgood-offense" types and felt really bad afterwards lol. Now I just do my own research and HODL strong.

Yeah, I hear you. It's why I offer risk averse financial information on my posts and videos. I'm the scaredycatguide after all :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48