You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Avoid Buying Products that Only Serve as a Social Signal

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

I really never felt the desire to do this, I guess it comes down to personality type, I'm a bit of an oddball and don't really try and 'fit in' with others. Don't get me wrong, I like people but I can't conform to make friends, take me or leave me.

For example as a man, I don't talk sports hardly ever, not because I don't like sports but because I find it becomes a proxy for not really saying anything. Id rather hear someone's opinions on 'conspicuous consumption' or social signal buying.

Second as I had a career as a buyer, the excitement of buying things has well and truly been knocked out of me, I look at purchases in terms of value. The formula for value is attributes/price, if it has lots of attributes with a low price that equals high value. Your message could be constructed as; be wary of assigning items with an attribute of impressing others, and therefore making it appear more valuable.

Sort:  

I can really identify with that second paragraph. Conversations that are just 'small-talk', as you said usually about sports when between men, always seem so void of meaning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63423.51
ETH 3252.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91