You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Performing Self-Care by Asking for Help

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Asking for help is a form of self-care that we are almost all brought up being told to do but expected not to do. We have to overcome that. We need to ask for help so that we can be our best selves which means we can do our best which means we can provide at our best.

This is a part of the complexity in life I've been trying to explain to people.... I would love to chip in a little story (looks like I always have a story for every issue? Yes, who won't! When you are surrounded with strong people passing through tough time, certainly, you will ). But let me keep it for another day.

I've seen people miss a lot of opportunity simply because they counted it as shame to ask for help ( imagine the hypocrisy) ......
I've seen broken homes, simply because the parties involved (that is,:husband and wife) refused to ask for help from each other.....
I've seen corpses lowered down six feet below simply because they allowed people's definition of self-help to control them.....

@shawnamawna,most times, I try to fit into someone's shoe so as to feel what he/she felt when making a decision,this attitude makes it very impossible for me to blame people's decision and at the end, the society gets the blame.

Why do I blame the society for the crime it didn't commit?
The society most times promotes a deranged definition of strength, they make it look sinful to ask for help in time of need, they kill the inward morale, while promoting a fake ego outside. The world doesn't need this,even the individual involved can't survive this. Why are we are taught what we won't be allowed to practice?
Why is the very essence of living which is being an umbrella to each other being frown upon?

I believe the real strength is in combined effort. God created us in the way that our strengths neutralises others' weaknesses thus creating a supernatural force to reckon with.

Nothing is impossible if and only if we learn the concept of self-love, know it's true definition and live a simple life.

Let's make our world a better place.

I am @sammynathaniels

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55