You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 48 | Groups & The Individual

in #psychology6 years ago

Nice piece again Abbey.

My Father used to tell me that "the company you keep determines what accompanies you".
He would also tell us that; "your association with people would either make you or mar you".

Observing these words (and from personal experiences), I have come to a conclusion that they are true. Our associations have more influence on us than we can imagine.

So, you understand why Festinger went on to say that we are mostly drawn to individuals with whom we share things in common. In other words, we are more attracted to people who are ‘like us’.

This does not obey the laws of physics. (We're told that unlike attracts). Well, many things do not obey the laws of physics.😂😂

You did an awesome piece here Abbey.

Much love from here.
Resteemed

Sort:  

That is why I find physics quite tricky Sammy! 😉

I like how balanced your father's views about groups was. In general, people seem see groups' influence as necessarily negative. But, I think that is far from always being the case :)

Thank you so much for once again taking the time to stop by and share you incredible insights with me Sammi. I also appreciate your reesteem very much! :*

Lots of love to you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54114.77
ETH 2331.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13