You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Elon Happy?

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

I think the Elon Musk plans for creating a more sustainable energy production and electric cars are great. Hyperloop is great idea but I think there are too many tecnical issues right now and it wont be a reality after 20-30 years at least. About SpaceX i think it can give a reliable alternative to some of the uses of that U.S space shuttles had, but nothing more in short term.

Of course that preserving Earth is more important than space colonies. But we can work on both sides at the same time. Basic science research, which is not focused in fixing a problem but in knowing the universe, has it benefits in long term. Arriving to the moon had not a direct impact in human development. But all the technology necesary for that it can also be applied for useful purposes on Earth.

Sort:  

Hi, @ropagaI. Thanks for your thoughts and for reading :)

I agree that Elon's ideas are great in a sense, but I think they offer technological solutions to psychological and social problems. These rarely work.

I think your assessment of SpaceX is very accurate. And I agree that it is not impossible to work on both problems at the same time: Our planet and our potential to expand beyond it.

I think what confused me most about the Ted Talk was that Elon seemed to be trying to solve problems from within the same state of consciousness that created them. All the old ideas: Better cars; space rockets etc seem to be the objective... And who knows, the system is so unpredictable, that maybe Elon's path leads somewhere unexpectedly freeing for humanity.

However, for me, it looks like he has not yet faced in himself the problems humanity faces . If he's a workaholic mistreating his employees, I don't know how such a state of mind can create a solution to our global dilemma.

He's a microcosm of our global problem in relating to each other.

I'd like him to create from a place of personal peace.

I'm sure he would too.

I agree that all advanced sustainable developments can´t completely fix the environmental problems. The Jevons paradox, which is used in economics, says that efficient improvements can increase the total consumption of a recourse. We must both create more efficient cars and use them less, improve the insulation of buildings and put the A/C temperature on summer higher...

I'd like to see more evidence that he abuses others.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62991.12
ETH 2685.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55