You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If EVERYTHING is Amazing, then NOTHING is Amazing!

in #psychology7 years ago

I completely agree!

Well, the thing is that we rarely criticize any longer. That might not entirely be a bad thing, but it makes it more difficult for people to improve since no one tells them what he should be doing better.

I like feeling awesome all the time, but reality is ruthless and realizing I am not that awesome at all, hurts. The "reality" feedback might not be directly telling you what you did wrong, but you will soon realize your shortcomings when taking the results into account.

I believe a self realization of "I do not know it all and I have much to learn" is the best strategy to cope with the reality feedback.

Sort:  

Exactly @ronni. I'm sure you're familiar with an old truism that goes something like "True wisdom happens in the moment you realize that you actually know very little."

Seems to me that we (meaning human cultures) lost our way; instead of working on our actual personal betterment, someone got the idea that it's a "shortcut" that if we can just make people feel better then we can skip the actual work. Unfortunately... just because we keep telling ourselves that a 50kg box is "not heavy" doesn't change the fact that the box still weighs 50kg; but instead of being prepared for a heavy box, now its weight is suddenly "an ugly surprise."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56836.82
ETH 2341.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41