You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reality, Consciousness and Symbols, and the Identification, Valuation and Attachment to Beliefs

in #psychology6 years ago

It's very easy for us to become attached to our belief and it's very important that we try to question them at least from time to time. Even truths that seem self-evident should be questioned from time to time.

One of the psychological problems that causes this blindness that you are talking about here is the fact that we attach our individual value to being correct. In this way our ego becomes associated with our beliefs and we protect them even when they are contradicted because we want to protect our ego. I've found it helpful to try and attach value to personal growth and development and disassociating myself from ideas as much as I can. I try to celebrate when an idea I hold is proven wrong as this is an opportunity for growth, not a defeat.

Sort:  

Yup, the ego-personality-identity construct as I call it -- although I didn't mention it here -- is implicit for me when I talk about our self-image, self-view or sense of self and the related attachment to our identity through identification with beliefs. I should have specified or put that particular term in to make it even more clear. Wanting to know when we are wrong is required for us to gain more alignment with truth/reality overall. We need to want to know when we are wrong so we can let go of false perception that prevent an accurate understanding of something :) Thanks for the feedback!

We need to want to know when we are wrong so we can let go of false perception that prevent an accurate understanding of something

Very well put! That's what I was trying to get at really :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67974.72
ETH 3841.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74