You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let’s talk about emotional sensitivity

in #psychology6 years ago

They may have the sensation of not fitting in with others due to their quality of being very sensitive

This is pretty much the story of my life. It's probably the best post I've read about it on Steemit (in fact the web) as really describes what I've experienced my whole life. I've always had a heightened sense of empathy and feel emotions quite intensely, which is actually really difficult and resulted, in the end, in a nervous breakdown as I just couldn't handle the pressure at work and started getting really paranoid. Anyway, that' sall a long story - what's helped me really is yoga and meditation, and I wrote a post yestrday about how I feel about my emotions in response to ecotrains question of the week, if you are interested in checking that out.

I found being aware/conscious of what was going in my body really helped, so that I didn't get so swept up in the waves and waves of emotion that could really bring me down.

It took me a long, long, long time to realise that there was nothing wrong with me for being like this - I always felt so different to everyone else because of it, which isn't helped by people saying 'don't be so sensitive!' as if it were somethign I could help.

Sort:  

Hey there @riverflows thanks for stopping by for your kind words mate!

what's helped me really is yoga and meditation

Really good for you to find out these 2 could help you, they are certainly quite common when dealing with issues like the one you are describing.

It took me a long, long, long time to realise that there was nothing wrong with me for being like this

I can only imagine how that would have felt, but I am happy you know have a proper understanding about this.

I will be checking out your post about the question of the week!

Cheers!

You know the sweetest thing is my Dad told me that without my emotional self, our family woukd be so much the worse off. He said that this year after a brutal cancer treatment where he faces death ... a time of reflection i guess (he is okay thank god) .... i was so touched to hear something i wish i had heard years before... i wasnt such an outcast after all!!! Emotional sensitivity can make you feel this way indeed... its quite isolating!

Sometimes it is not easy to freely express our opinion or feelings towards another person. It is not easy to develop that deep emotional connection, even between family members. At least in your case he eventually did tell you the truth about what he think.

Cheers @riverflows!

That's very true. Men in particular find it tough to do that, but it was so nice that Dad did in the end. I did always know he loved me though - i didn't need words for that! xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58702.17
ETH 2301.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46