You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: “The survivor is unlikely to get support from her family in dealing with abuse that took place within the family...."

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Excellent post I wish I could vote but I replenish my voting power, I am Friending you so I can follow and vote for your next article. I'm a survivor too, I broke from my family as well. I was called a liar after I came out about my abuse after maintaining silence and a congenial relationship with my stepfather and his family. He abused me physically, mentally/emotionally, and sexually from the time I was 8 till I was 14 yrars old. I did years of therapy and letting go of trauma conditioning before I left my family for good at the age of 40. I told my family why and told them they could make a choice, stop protecting child predators and support me. They chose my abusive stepfather and I walked away. I haven't looked back and feel 1000 times better for it...I was the scapegoat of the family. They blamed all their problems on me even if I wasn't around and they still do, but at least I can't hear them anymore. No more silence!

Same goes for any abusive authority, I don't tolerate it anymore and speakout. Excellent article @silencenomore!

Sort:  

Thank you so much! I am sorry to hear of your abuse and family scapegoating you...though not surprised! It seems to be the norm with abuse within families, protecting the abuser and/or the one who was suppose to protect you, who knew of the abuse, and did nothing. I am very happy to hear that you are honoring yourself and what you survived by no longer allowing it to be swept under the rug or minimized in any way! Good for you! Sending you light, love, peace and healing!

Abuse is awful, I wish this hadn't happened to anyone but it does every minute of the day around the world. I learned to use my trauma to wake up to the worlds trauma, in a positive view my trauma woke me up to my deep conditions and suffering as it's related to our world and I don't think that would of happened if I had "a normal" childhood. I'm happy you are here to share your story and healing with us. 🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57360.64
ETH 3124.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23