Simplify Your Life!

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

So many of my friends are so stressed out by the demands of careers and families. They often drop by and envy that I am retired and look so calm and zen. I’ve had my fair share of the rat race, a demanding career, a family, pets, extended family, etc, etc.

All the complaints of stress are always followed by the statement,

“Oh! I need a vacation.”

“No, you don’t!” is always my reply.

Stay at home and give yourself a break! Learn to rest.


Simplify your life! How? Here are my suggestions:


Be yourself. - It is okay to feel overwhelmed.

Sleep enough- Sleep deprivation can seriously shorten your life.

Eat healthily - Have single, balanced meals every day. Incorporate more vegetables and fruits if you need to. Cut out as much processed foods as possible.

Make “Eat to nourish my body” your mantra.

Exercise - Healthy body, healthy mind. Movement gets blood (Life Force) flowing. Do what you can, no need for exertion.

The satisfaction of completion - Catch up on your household chores!

Have relaxed moments with family - Creates bonding, takes your mind off the stressors.


Be mindful - Have quiet time for yourself. I’m reminded of this Buddhist quote,

“You, Your Self, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection.”

Get off social media - Spend less time on Facebook, Instagram, Youtube or Pinterest. It can drain your energy and leave you feeling unaccomplished. Steemit is okay.


What’s most important, is to be gentle with yourself.
You, too are a human being. You are also still learning.

Know you are enough.

Image Source: 1, 2, 4,

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. Do you think Steemit is no suggar?

What an amazing qoute. I really liked your post. It was short and with a message. Following. You can always follow back if you like :)

Good tips. This is helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66093.99
ETH 3559.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13