🤔 ENVY: A Positive Emotion?

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

I often see posts making a lot of money.

I’m a minnow on Steemit, and trying to get into the trend of things. After reading these lucrative posts, I often wish I were able to do the same.

I spend hours thinking of how to express thought and my daughter helps me with this thing she calls “Formatting”, and spends a fair amount of time there.

So, reasonably, the envy starts to creep in.

Don’t get me wrong, I am very happy for all the people who are successful on Steemit, but I also always wish I was one of them. We often want what other people have! Silly humans.

It’s been on my mind and seeing others experience the same frustrations, I felt maybe a good idea to write.

What is Envy?

It is a complex emotion.

It is the perception that others have something of value that you don’t have. In that outlook, envy provides us with information about where we stand in life, and how we may improve our circumstances.

It makes us brood over what we lack and resent those who have it.

An ugly emotion, one not many are proud of or care to admit to.

The reality is, we’ve all felt that pang at some point.
Simply because we feel bad about ourselves.

With some searching, I found that ‘Envy’, can be classified into Benign Envy & Malicious Envy.

Both experiences are painful, but benign envy produces a leveling up motivation; malicious envy produces a leveling down motivation.

Richard Smith

Benign Envy can be an example of my feelings; Follow all the rules about Steemit, do not think of the rewards but plod on - like, comment, resteem. Or launch into a mental tirade of “not fair”, “thousands for a short article”, “thousands for a photo”, etc. - The latter being Malicious Envy.

“Our envy of others devours us most of all”. Aleksanndr Solztenitsyn

Envy is a directed emotion: The envier directs the emotion, and the envied is target of the emotion.

“Envy expresses the vindictive and inwardly tormenting frame of mind, the displeasure with what one perceives the prosperity and advantages of others, begrudges them the things and in addition wishes one were able to destroy or to posses them oneself.” Grimm’s German Diet.

“Envy is rooted in the inevitable comparison between our own situation and that of others”. Schopenhauer

Comparison to others elicits awareness of our inferiorities be it in terms of wealth, possessions, mental or physical characteristics.

When we compare ourselves to more successful people, we rate ourselves lower.

This can generate envy, if we believe that what we lack in comparison to another abounds to our relative unhappiness.

Envy is the “tendency to perceive with displeasure the good of others”
Immanuel Kant

Instead of viewing our inadequacies, we can choose a more constructive reaction; emulation and improvement.

Emulation occurs when the recognition of one’s inferiority leads them to view the envied as examples to learn from.
Emulation helps to lift and motivate yourself to become the best.

The mass media relentlessly gives us a supply information - We are able to intimately view the lives of strangers. - People form opinions about people they’ve never met. Many begin to envy, maybe not the person, but lifestyle and earnings.

This DifferentNess makes us victims of Envy.

Emulation can be viewed as the positive reaction to what drives weaker individuals to Envy.
It’s better to react to your inferiority with the desire to improve which is not only good for the self but also society.

Focus on the better.

“ Envy is Concealed Admiration.” Kierkengaard

Essentially, 'Envy' could possibly serve as a evolutionary "motivator" of sorts if reacted to positively.

Let us celebrate each others successes, big and small!

Use envy to act well and do well, and not be smaller minded and meaner.
In the words of my daughter, @BelleKaur, “Don’t be Salty”.

I suppose this is a reminder to Self and others:

Become consumed in manifesting your dreams!

We focus too much on our shortcomings and want to pluck the fruit off tree’s we did not plant and tend. So believe in your abilities and reap the fruits of your own success.


Follow me @Rainbowsky.

👍🏼Upvote and Resteem!

Images: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.

Related Sources:

Sort:  

I love your conclusion, so I'll bold face it:

We want to pluck the fruit off trees we did not plant and tend. So believe in your abilities and reap the fruits of your own success.

Yes... excellent words @rainbowsky -- I would love to quote you in a future article, an when I do, I'll link back to you as a reference. Great job!

Exactly this. Whenever I feel envious, I try to use it as fuel for my motivation for whatever it is, then apply that motivation to the work that needs to be done in order to achieve what I was envious of in the first place.

A very nice way to respond and self-correct your envy. Now I'm envious of you. Oh wait... maybe I shouldn't be envious. Let me self-correct that feeling. Ha haha

by all means, please do! thank you so much for the comment. how motivating!

https://steemit.com/life/@riskybiscuit/quotes-notes-and-women-16-oliver-stone

Envy is the most dangerous emotion by far. I wrote about it here

Great post! Followed :)

For me it's a motivation. If so many people can do it then why not ME? Like with all things practice makes perfect and there are lots of examples and information on Steemit of what to do to be successful here. HF19 will certainly help!!

success.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97