What Factors Affect the Adult Brain?

in #psychology7 years ago

As adults we need a balanced brain to be fully functioning humans. What things or factors negatively affect our brain balance?

• Injury
• Medications, including alcohol and drugs.
• Fatigue.
• Emotional distress.
• Pain.
• Stress.

When the adult brain is affected by current or past trauma, there are certain symptoms which may occur:

• Anxiety
• Depression
• Agitation
• Anger, rage, irritability, or outbursts
• Isolation or keeping to yourself
• Unusual fears
• Eating problems
• Flashbacks or problematic memories
• Impairment in decision-making skills
• Trouble concentrating
• Impatience
• Addictive behavior, especially with substances or alcohol
• Passive
• Feeling disconnected
• Uneasy in certain situations
• Insomnia
• Overworking
• Feeling unlikeable
• Feeling unsafe in your surroundings
• Doing risky or strange things
• Not able to trust anyone
• Doing things over and over again, or in a certain way
• Being hard on yourself or wanting to hurt yourself

Sort:  

Having lived with extreme pain for twenty years, I can honestly say I've seen my fair share of the list above. Fortunately not all at once. In my mind, I have created a Darth Vader-like suit that helps support my body. It feeds me all the proper nutrition, medicates my pain, and slowly repairs my injuries. It is an environmental suit. However, that is just not possible with our current technology. Not until we perfect nanotechnology and have an unlimited clean energy source lite enough that it can be placed into a body glove designed suit that enables us to function as if we aren't wearing anything at all. Reminds me of the Alan Dean Foster book Escape to Prism...I think that's the title. The main character is in an environment suit full time, travels to a planet called Prism. It is a planet covered in crystals, which he later finds out are living life forms. His suit gets punctured and the living crystals revive him by transforming his flesh into a crystalline structure. That's fantasy sci-fi though. This was a great article. Thank you for sharing.
X

I love fantasy. I think it is a great gift we can give ourselves. Personally I surround myself with a "Crystal Shield" to protect myself ahead of certain situations. But once the trauma has been received anything that works that helps towards healing is game. I use EMDR a great deal with people to reduce trauma.

Haven't heard about EMDR so I'm not familiar with the term. Anyhow, keep writing, you have a talent for it.
X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47