You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: OPINION #1: Where Humanistic Theory Falls Short

Your essay is quite a read, each point you raise could produce an essay in response/furtherance. I am not a psychologist, but have studied just enough to gain derision from many who have studied, for being an ignorant layman.

In order to avoid writing an essay in response, I would say that while HT fails when it comes to being correct in all situations it does have its merits in regards to many problems are self induced. You are spot on it is absurd to discount the subconscious, and its incessant chattering that lulls many to walk as though asleep, reactive instead of active.

You are well read on this subject, and have given me some ideas to ponder. I hold much of Psychology with the same healthy skepticism I do religions with all of its various factions. You have exposed me to ideas I would never have encountered otherwise.

I noted your seeming high esteem for Jung, and was curious if in the future, should you have the time and interest, you would share your thoughts on his ideas of the collective consciousness, if you have any.

Sort:  

Your noticing of my admiration for Jung is very perceptive. I personally find the Jungian school of thought to be my favorite in psychology, and I think it manages to make amends for both the lacks in Freud's Psychodynamic theory and H.T. As for the Collective Unconscious, I am a personal believer in it as a theory, as controversial as it is. I think if there is any hope for a unifying, objective morality in the future, there would be no better place to go than the underlying Darwinian-based models for morality.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.49
ETH 2617.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39