You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Makes Social Networks the Worst Place to be While Depressed?

in #psychology7 years ago

It's really bad with day trading. You make a trade, and then you feel compelled to sit there and watch how it changes, even if you know it's something that is only going to give rewards in a week's time.

Sort:  

Yeah, I commented on this very topic in your piece on Day Trading.

I think professional day traders bypass this issue because they always have something else, the next thing to look at.

By the by, speaking of your piece from today, and I may make a similar point there, but relationships are also open loops, varying to a degree by what happened in them recently and how long you've been in them, etc. - I often say that with true friends, you can sit in companionable silence, and that's because you don't need the constant affirmation of the relationship existing. Crushes are an extreme case of open loops.

I also mentioned in said post of yours on day trading that this is why I won't come close to it. I mean, look at all the open tabs I have in my browser (currently 46) - that's a symptom of being unable to close open loops, which in turn makes it even harder to close the next one, etc.

Yes, definitely. But I enjoy relationship open loops.

I think we all do, at least to some degree, for a certain period of time per relationship.

I mean, leaving a fight unresolved is also a relationship open loop, and I know you don't like that.

But yes, we all enjoy a crush. The open loop part of the crush is what makes a crush both fun and draining :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12