IT'S ALL IN THE MIND, REALLY!

in #psychology7 years ago

You know, we generally say things, like OH IT'S ALL IN THE MIND, you know? But this week I realized something that is REALLY ALL IN THE MIND. 

You know how when you work, you want it to be quiet, so that you can concentrate? 

Well I noticed something interesting about that. But first let me tell you a little something else that will help you understand the point I am making...have you ever driven your car and it felt like something was different, but better? 

Almost like overnight your car just got a performance boost, but there is REALLY no reason for it. It happened with me recently, and when I asked the question on Facebook on my wall (that was before I started using Steemit of course), someone said, did you clean your car? And then I realized, yes I did. It is all in the mind. 


Crazy if you think about it. Here I was, honestly thinking that something had just sort of miraculously jumped into place in my car, to improve the performance...and all the while it was just a matter of me having removed some dust and pieces of paper....maybe a couple of empty Coke cans or water bottles, that were lying around in my car.  

IT IS ACTUALLY ALL IN THE MIND!!! Now I don’t want to, and I wouldn’t know how to, actually go into trying to explain how that works! But it does work. 

So, OK that was the background story. Here is the real story, BACK TO THE EARPHONES! When you put on earphones without any music, so that you can concentrate in a noisy place, sure, there is some muffling effect on the noise. 

But even that I’m not sure is ever that significant. Because oftentimes I have felt like I hear certain things around me EVEN BETTER when I have those earphones on (without music). 

Strange. Anyway, my point is this, let’s say it does have a 20% muffling effect – in other words it takes away about 20% of the background noise in the place so that you can concentrate better. And I think 20% is generous here...well, then it still feels more like 80%. Why? BECAUSE ITS ALL IN THE MIND (I THINK!).  

Sort:  

The mind is much more powerful than what we currently know. As we learn more about how the mind works, the more we will be able to do.

That is true. How do we leverage it for the positive?

Colin can I ask you a huge personal favour? Can you resteem my article, I want to try it out and see what happens...

Really great post. I always have my earphones in. Facebooks sux, agreed.

"If people can find you, they will interrupt you"

HEHE I like that saying If people can find you, they will interrupt you. Was it in my article? I can't remember? What do you listen to? Yesterday I put on some rain on youtube and I really started thinking it was raining outside.

No, it was in my article. :D I think it's from a time managing workshop I attended to.
Well, not all the time when I have them in I listen to something. Sometimes, like now, they just stay there, but mostly music, classic rock.

Whats your favorite band?

Huh, really hard question. I can't decide. I love all of them. For real

OK nice... where are you from?

Hi @guyfawkes4-20 would you mind resteeming this for me?

It's a nice post but I won't resteem it. Hope you don't mind.

No problem!

Thanks for that :-) can I ask you a huge personal favour? Can you resteem my article, I want to try it out and see what happens...

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.72 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 09 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thanks this is interesting, how can I get it upvoted more by the right people?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55