Problems with identity crisis; a horrific encounter

in #psychology6 years ago

IMG_20180608_203327_698.JPG

Identity Crisis has its roots in ego. It is the way a person sees himself or herself as opposed or in relation to the way others around him or her does.

People around me especially my relations will like to compare me to someone in the family who I might seem to take after. They will compare the negative traits of that person to mine and that alwaysl made me feel sad about myself.

This kept happening to me. I took it. I swallowed all their torment but I was hurting. Then a day came when I mustered up courage and spoke up. I harshly or would I rather say angrily replied to the one person who always lambasted me occasionally. The shock on her face sold her away out. that was the last of the torment from her. I became free from that day thereof. Although, it wasn't the end, battles with other critics has to be won as well.

Well, the above explanation is a personal description of the identity Crisis that I have gone through. Identity Crisis can take other forms. As a result of my own personal encounter with this crisis I decided to undertake a research on WIKIPEDIA which led me to these:

IDENTITY FORECLOSURE: This form of identity crisis is most common with youths. This category of people in the society haven gotten well accustomed to their customs and traditional values get disoriented when there is a shift or change in this system. A very good example is the case scenario where a man decides to sell his house without consulting his FIRST son who by birth right has ownership to the very house in question. Whenever the son finds out, he is sure to have a wounded feeling of identity foreclosure.

The next form of identity crisis is very common among stars. It is IDENTITY DIFFUSION. A winning champion who unexpectedly loses a very big game due to injury sustained while in play will have this crisis. Let us take a cue from the event with Mohammed Salah, the Liverpool player who got injured during a game of play with Real Madrid. Having lost the game to Madrid, Mohammed Salah burst into an uncontrolled flow of tears. His identity as a Super Star was heavily hurt.

Heading down to the penultimate on the Wikipedia list is the IDENTITY MORATORIUM. This identity crisis happens to University Students a lot and mostly people who tend to make future decisions as well. I will use myself as a typical example. It took me a long time to finally come to a conclusion to accept my Course which is Electrical and Electronics Engineering.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59467.52
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38