Nostalgia - How does it make you feel?

in #psychology7 years ago

What is nostalgia?  Sentimental longing or yearning for the past.  The good ole days.

I never really given much thought to the phenomenon of nostalgia and how it makes me feel.  I was wanting to write a post about how I got involved in computers and what I view to be the best times in my years of computing.  In the process of thinking about it and looking up a few things on the first computer I ever used I came across information about nostalgia.  How to use nostalgia to your advantage (without getting stuck in the past), using it for innovation and if it is a gift that keeps on giving?

What I was thinking of and remembering what I considered to be the best times in personal computing was in fact nostalgia. 

I find that one of the best memories I have is from about the age of 5 years old when I was first introduced to my uncles Apple ][  and I was perplexed and interested in it although I did not know much about it except that it looked really cool.  It had multiple uses programming, sound, graphics and games... it had games! 

I received my own personal computer when I was 9 years old which was a Tandy 1000sx.  Included with the Tandy I was given a book on BASIC and from there I started trying to teach myself how to program in it.  Since programming is a solitary activity it was perfect for me.  I eventually started acquiring copies of BYTE magazine that helped me to learn more about BASIC and writing little programs that actually worked.  The Tandy was super cool but it never was quite as cool as my uncles Apple ][.  At the time I know I sounded a bit crazy (I was a little kid) but I was convinced that the Tandy couldn't do as much as the Apple ][ not until I obtained a modem. A lot changed when my dad got me a modem to use... then it all really changed! 

This is how I ended up into computers, programming and consorting with script kiddies from the late 1990's that brings me current today.  BBS's, AOL and Prodigy.  The pre Internet (today's internet) ERA. Which just so happens to trigger my warm, comforting emotion that is often times referred to as nostalgia.  

Science suggests that nostalgia is beneficial in a lot ways; it's a effective coping mechanism for young and old.  But not everyone can reach into this reservoir of nostalgic memories and conjure up positive memories.  Those who are habitual worriers tend to dwell too much on negative memories and does not see the positive benefits of nostalgia as others.

It's recommended today that people should try and use nostalgic memories as a way to connect your past with your present instead of comparing them and that you should always try and end on a positive thought verses a negative ones.  

A important piece of advice is don't miss an opportunity to create nostalgic-to-be memories,  this anticipatory nostalgia and there is already a good bit of research on the topic.  After all we will run out of things to think about so we have to make new memories to call upon.  

What are you nostalgic for?


#nostalgia #memory #past #feelings 


Sort:  

do as much as you can my friend, me upvot and resteem, do not forget visit my blog also friend who knows you like

Thanks for your continued support, @humaidi!

I will always support you my dear ...

I always support you friend, good luck my friend @ozhiya.
do not forget to visit my blog @zhiya.

I will not forget you and I defiantly will visit your blog. Thanks for your comment and vote, @jasonmunapasee! :)

thank you my friend.
my friend there are some very weak posts, no upvote my posting. please visit my friend @ozhiya

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ozhiya to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I try not to fall into the trap of looking back to not fill myself with Nostalgia; although I enjoy remembering my most beautiful and good moments. Greetings Friend, very good Post.

I never really realized that the majority of people use nostalgia as a form of coping mechanism but some do end up falling into a trap and getting stuck remembering bad memories and never moving forward to make new memories. I really do find this a interesting subject. Thanks for your comment and vote, @leivisveliz!

This is very valuable blog, thanks for sharing.
Thanks @ozhiya

@goldcoin, thanks for your comment!

Nostalgia? I do Not know to say nothing about this topic, because I do not have arguments to indicate the hank of feelings based on my memories. But, I can to say: Delicious Post. I enjoyed every word that I could have read. In fact, it made me remember things that I do not remember often; since it was my first time with an odious computer Burroughs in the University, programming with "hole cards" and for "terminal", suffering to any more not being able. Then when they appeared z80, later them x286, x386; and in this successive order, I can learning in programming with Pascal, Basic, Fortran, C and more recently Python, Oracle, Java and Html, untying this great love and passion that I have for the computers and the environment of programming, though lament that in these times of so intensive advances, I consider myself very slow in updating. Thanks.

@josevasquez, I do hope to make more posts like this one. I would like to learn a bit more about my followers... It's nice getting to know who I am interacting with here on steemit. So, you work with computers now @josevasquez? Which operating system do you use now? I have been building hackintosh's (MacOS installed on non apple hardware) that I've been using.

Nostalgia has some incredible powers! It's a natural human tendency and pretty common at that. Probably everyone encounters it about once a week. I might would say it's the most common among people in their 30's as well as people who are older than 50 who often looks back and reevaluating their lives.

One should make nostalgia work for you as well as letting the past inform your future. You could possibly make a game of talking about the past (good memories) in a group setting. Also it's great to create new memories and help keep traditions alive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49