Try something new. Now. It will make you feel better

in #psychology8 years ago

Whenever I need a little boost I try something new. I can highly recommend it! Our brains tend to operate on automatic pilot, and even the smallest break from routine can give us a new lease on life.

                                   

(thank you pixabay!)

I've had a pretty horrible week. Nothing dramatic, mostly just recovering from a nasty cold and feeling stressed and down in the dumps. Today I managed to kick myself in the arse just enough to make an appointment to see to my unruly brows. I always start off with the best intentions of keeping them tame, but they wage a constant war against me in a battle for self expression. 


Also, and here is the issue, I don't like the salon I go to. The women there are terribly snooty and call everyone...friend. It makes me cringe. In my mind I scream...not me! But I have gone there forever, it is routine. Today I couldn't get an appointment, and I was irritated as I have absolutely no patience when I want something done. Then I thought about the tattoo studio I recently visited for a tattoo quotation. A friend had told me she would sponsor a tattoo, but sadly didn't follow through. The tattoo I would like costs R2500/$180. I don't know if this expensive for a tattoo or not? Anyway, back to those pesky brows. I live in South Africa, and the tattoo artist is a refugee from Syria. I saw that she had advertised threading so decided to give it a try.

                                                                               

I would love a dragon tattoo!

The atmosphere was completely different to the snooty salon. It didn't have the clinical feel of a beauty salon. The Syrian lady runs her tattoo studio from a tiny shop in walking distance from my shop, which is a big plus. Business was quiet today for her (and me!) so she told me I could come anytime I liked. When she saw my brows she pursed her lips in disapproval. Can't say I blame her, and without further pussyfooting got straight to work. After she had completed one she showed me, and it was so different I was quite take aback, not sure if I liked it, but I decided to give her free range. I found the threading slightly more painful than tweezing, but it was so quick! Afterwards we discussed my potential tattoo (when I can save up!). She showed me how my original idea would not work, so it's back to the drawing board on that one.


Walking back to the shop had me feeling lighter. Yes, I know I had lost some troublesome hair! But apart from that, I had supported a woman with a small business like mine, heard some interesting, presumably Syrian, music and didn't have to deal with irritating salon. And I looked good! Small things like this affect my mood. Colouring my hair (green these days) has a similar effect. 

Back at work with awesome eyebrows (and windswept hair from the walk!)

Life is tough. I am often weighed down by what the future holds for my 3 children. I have felt something big hovering over my head for the longest time. Will the world end as we know it? It seems ever more likely? Am I wasting time thinking about it? Probably yes. I should banish all forms of media, that would make me feel better. But I know I won't, at least not yet. Meanwhile we live day to day trying to make the best of things.


Trying something new often becomes a welcome obsession for me. Just over 5 years ago I had a car accident which I really could not afford. To take my mind off it, the very next day I threw my whole being into selling online. This was despite the fact that I had never really used or even owned a computer before. That was a very welcome distraction then, and a profitable one, though now it has become routine.


The very low carb Banting Diet distracted me for quite a while. It is an effective diet, but difficult to maintain for more than a year. Meal planning and preparation, as well as the evangelistic nature of its adherents served to focus my attention away from issues in my life. It was during this time that I randomly saw an advertisement for yoga while I was looking something entirely else up and decided to attend class on the spur of the moment. MASSIVE distraction! To be fair not so much a distraction, as much as a wonderful new addition to my life. 


My very latest craze has obviously been Steemit. When I first discovered it there was that rush of pure obsession that I so love. Two months later I still love Steemit, but the obsession has worn off. This is not a bad thing, as I am figuring out how to incorporate it into my life.

(thank you pixabay!)

Sometimes my desire for new can drive my family mad, especially when I deviate from the known family favourites at supper time. My daughter knows my obsessional nature too well, and although she loves the idea of a tattoo, has warned me that I might end up with no skin left un-inked! But if you are feeling down, just try something new, big and life changing, or a small break from routine. It really makes you feel better! And apart from that, your life becomes enriched with all the new habits that you are constantly incorporating into it!


Thank you for reading! Please follow me @onetree 

Sort:  

Yes it can. It is then you need to tap into your stubborness!

Yep. Getting out of our comfort zone changes our lives... but but... it's so comfy! ;)

I know, right?!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67633.57
ETH 2605.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71