You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 48 | Groups & The Individual

in #psychology6 years ago

Great post Abigail (as always)! This is one of those conversations that inevitably leads to the discussion of human free will, or lack thereof. The more I think about how our environment shapes us the less I believe the life choices I personally make are truly my own. It sounds like I’m being harsh on myself, but I think accepting that makes it easier to avoid blame and stigmatisation of others when they act against the norm.

The perception of a lot of the health care issues we’re facing in high-income countries fit nicely into this spectrum. Obviously, people have choice in smoking or overeating behaviours but we have to have some compassion and take into account the social environment that these behaviours are occurring within. If we do, then we can move the discussion towards how to make changes wider changes to society to encourage healthy behaviours rather than placing the burden entirely on an individual.

Sort:  

Hi Richard :) I am so glad you liked it.

I like how you addressed this topic from your own perspective ( [...] I believe the life choices I personally make are truly my own), and that of others ([...] take into account the social environment that these behaviours are occurring within). I mostly appreciate, however, how you invited us to look at others (and ourselves) from a compassionate position.

I suppose that the tricky part is to find the right balance between the responsibility of the individual and the overwhelming influence our social environment has on us. We certainly don't exist in a vaccum, and that is why broader societal changes are a good start when it comes to improving individual lives.

Thank you for taking the time to stop by and share your views here with us. Your insights always widen my thoughts and questions about whatever is being discussed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58015.02
ETH 2381.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42