In Search of the Unknown: An experiment with LSA

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Near-Death-Experience_Illustration.jpg

I had always regarded myself a psychonaut through my late teenage years, an "armchair psychonaut" however. Triggered by my spontaneous experiences with lucid dreaming, I began reading a lot of philosophic and metaphysical materials and slowly developed an eagerness to experience a lot of what was written. I was also fascinated by the psychedelic communities and the number of psychoactive plants, and the active underground groups surrounding them in the west (especially in the US, Canada and South American Countries) where most of the authors I read came from.

As it was, the knowledge of psychotropic plants and psychedelic substances were either alien or esoteric where I grew up but you could get Marijuana, a plant I had grown to dislike, firstly, due to it's association with local hoodlums and secondly, due to the sedative nature of the available strain; I was not trying to be put to sleep, I only craved the mental adventures and discoveries I had read about from fellow explorers.

In my University days, most nights were spent in corners of dark rooms late in the night, meditating. I was a student who majored in Land Economics but metaphysics was my unofficial major. With years of meditation, pranayama and special breathing methods and a brief exploration of Jungian active imagination technique behind me, I was slowly becoming an impatient seeker, I was experienced with ludicd dreams and similar adventures but I wanted a substance induced trip where the elements lead the way through parallel worlds. So you know how exciting it was, a few years later, when I learnt I could order an LSA laden seed off Amazon. This was the closest I would probably get to a trip.

Arygeria (1).JPG

The next few days after my discovery was pretty exciting as I awaited my delivery from Amazon, it eventually came in a white padded envelop. This was the closest I would get to an entheogen, that was what I thought. I couldn't wait to take the first trip, I waited till late evening and took a few seeds and lightly scrapped the husk off, I later squashed the seeds and carefully placed in a white tea sack which I had emptied out and placed under my tongue while I did a few things around my apartment.

Now it was really dark outside and I was in alone, I could feel waves of tremor sweep over my body, it seemed like the gateway to a good trip and I was starting to loose balance. Wobbling over to the room, I fell to the bed, laid down and surrendered to the feeling, closing my eyes slowly to ease the dizziness and hoping that beautiful visions of colours and imageries would take over,,, maybe I was wrong.

It was now a few hours into the night, I had been on the bed for hours unable to sleep, I was visibly agitated at this point, beautiful visions and colours were unwilling to emerge as I have read, instead, my heart was racing uncontrollably and I felt it would get ripped off my chest making it even scarier,,, at that point, I felt like I would be dead before the morning came and I was really terrified. Death had never felt so close by. Since I couldn't figure out what to do, I slowly surrendered to my fate, hoping maybe somehow I would survive.

I later fell asleep while semi-conscious of my dire state. My thought process was not too clear for the rest of the night but for unknown reasons, I thought I had to finish my post graduate thesis which I had left pending for months, I felt this was the only way to have a decent trip, and that made no sense to me at all. Not only was it a lacklustre experience, it was more of a terrible one.

I woke up later in the morning, I had fallen deeply into sleep at some point in the night and I was grateful for that. I told myself I wouldn't ever try such a trip again but a few days later, I would be trying the same thing with the same result.

This was the point where I had to flush the remaining seeds down the toilet, maybe till some other day...

"Please don't try this at home, or anywhere for that matter, this is only entertainment"

Image Source

Sort:  

That is chem induced panic attack, it makes you wanna run for miles.
Doesn't need to be LSD induced, I think that is some sort of med.
My doctor prescribed me some allergy pills because I had a reaction to some plant. Rash stopped, but a problem was that I had exactly the same symptoms like you. The difference was that I knew what it is from, so I didn't panic at all.
I never experimented with anything because I was hospitalized at one point of my life and most of the narcotics don't work anymore. I also don't feel pain in some parts of my body, they told me it is not a brain problem , nothing burnt inside but the fact is that I do not have desire for any chemistry and as far I can tell I can't develop any addiction because my neuro-signals are really weird, so I think some things are a little different.

Lol. I feel the same way too about having weird neuro-signals. There was a point where I experimented with a few things but I never had the same reaction people reported. It was a bit confusing.
I'm also surprised there are actual drugs that initiates similar panic reactions.

Those who seek meaning can come up with some ideas to dissolve the narrowing inner borders, but the addictive search is full of life in its own right. Rush of heart, anxiety, looking death in the eye is like a recall, not death, but another chance to get his things done, like finishing the doctoral thesis.

It was a masters thesis and I actually got back to it and finished it but the experience wasnt good enough for me to try again. I wish I could see the rush and all as a recall at those moments but it was terrifying and thoughts weren't clear.

I was still very young when I had a similar experience and that protected me quite well in retrospect - then I got into the clear spiritual path of meditation, but everywhere we can encounter experiences that may even be similar. The desire and action to loosen or dissolve the boundaries of identity also mobilizes internal resistance and the most effective tool for this is fear. She is able to quickly and immediately lash the identity tightly again. That causes pain, but in the end it holds together.

I guess you're saying the fear of death is just an attempt of the ego to maintain the self identity but if we go through the feelings of panic without fearing it, we can loosen the boundaries of identity? Is that it?

I would say that once the borders consciously do not dissolve quickly, at any rate not by constructive means such as mediation, but secondly I mean that this panic that you have experienced has certainly saved you from the type of guy in you who tried out loose substances and did not have the gaze until then that the use can also be a way into madness.

:) I think I understand you now. The borders should be slowly dissolved through constructive means such as meditation rather than trying out substances which can be fatal or damaging. I understand, but some substances are milder and have more revealing experiences and they've been in use for so long. Something like iboga even has mental healing abilities.

Yes, I can see that also just like you.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

This post has received a 2.74 % upvote from @kittybot thanks to: @peppermint24.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95