You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE RABBIT ILLUSION - Are your thoughts traveling through time?

in #psychology6 years ago

Ach, this is one area of science that makes my blood boil! I am VERY sceptical about "false memory syndrome". However I'm not suggesting that we all have perfect memory ability. Instead I would describe it as "potentially inaccurate memory" or "the ability of the mind to be manipulated".
The reason I am so wary of the idea of "false memory" is that it can be – and has been – used to make people doubt their own mental capabilities. It has been used to dispute witness testimonies in judicial cases. It can therefore be used to limit people's rights and freedoms.
And I didn't fall for the flashing light experiment, because I could see it coming! I saw only two flashes. Though I admit, if I had been watching it out of context I might have believed I saw three flashes.
I've read about the Elizabeth Loftus "shopping mall" experiment before. There were only 24 participants, and only a quarter of them, 25%, reported remembering the "false" event.
The reason I've put "false" in quotes is because... maybe this wasn't even a false memory. Most of us can remember a time when we got lost as a small child, and even if it was only for a short time, it would have seemed scary at that age. And it was quite likely that when we were lost, an older person would have found us. Even if that older person was in their 30s, to a 5-year-old they might appear as an "elderly"! So maybe those "implanted" memories weren't quite as false as they might appear.
In any case, I think that experiment is flawed, yet it is often quoted as "proof" of "false memory syndrome".
I enjoy your science posts, so I hope you don't mind me disputing this aspect. I just think it has wider implications, and with so much riding on it, I don't think we should be giving too much credence to dubious research carried out on a group of 24 people.

Sort:  

Shopping mall experiment is older and served as an intro to the main point of the post. This new one with the sound is excellent and I really hope you will find the time to read the full research.

I don't think we should be giving too much credence to dubious research carried out on a group of 24 people.

I think we should. This is how it starts, with smaller research leading to bigger ones, more funding is necessary but this topic surely is interesting and important enough to be worked on more in the future. Nothing is exact now but it does raise good questions and open doors for more to come. Thank you for your valuable contribution to this topic.

This was my gut reaction as well as I am a little cautious about false memory syndrome as I know it has been falsified in court cases or used to discredit people when it cannot really be proved and I have heard that thing about them all as well because he hasn't been lost in a mall right? But then again the vine does play funny tricks on us and fill in gaps when there are none

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67212.95
ETH 2616.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68