You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are you carrying prejudices?

in #psychology6 years ago

I would be the first person to admit that I have prejudices, even at a subconscious level - yet I did not answer "yes" to any of the questions you posed. The reason is because I studied History at university, and that taught me how to question my sources and not make value judgements AND then I went on to become a journalist, and especially when I worked as a sub-editor, I learned to question my sources even more. I had some very good teachers. I didn't learn those lessons overnight - it's taken a long time, and it's an ongoing process.
In response to your questions, 1. I am black, and I certainly don't have a propensity to crime 2. One of my best friends is gay and a close relative is trans, 3. I think that people who blindly cling to the idea that Obama and Clinton were good presidential material, closing their eyes to the drone strikes and violence of their administration, are probably as stupid or more stupid than those who voted for Trump - though I don't really think any of them were stupid. Maybe misguided, as I was when I cheered for Tony Blair in 1997... etc, etc. It's about critical thinking really.
So howcome I see myself as prejudiced? Because I notice inbuilt reactions that I've probably acquired from early childhood. For example, when I was a child, I visited the Netherlands and met a black girl there. She told me she was from Scheveningham, a Dutch town. But I thought she must be from Africa - even though I used to get annoyed because people thought I must be from Africa, even though I was born in Scotland! After a while I realised that I was falling into that old trap of prejudice (pre-judging). We all succumb to it in some way or other. The most important thing is to recognise it and try to set it loose!

Sort:  

I could not agree with you more. We all carry some prejudice in us but the first step in dealing with them is recognition. Thank you for your lovely and meaningful comment 💚💚💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63891.49
ETH 2753.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66