You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shame and disordered eating

in #psychology6 years ago

I understand this journey of yours, and the pain it brings more than I can say. I have had a love hate relationship with food since I can remember. Probably due to emotional issues causing physical tightness and internal dysfunction, my body seems to reject food more than it accepts it. As a result I am chronically underweight. But I don't reject food, more like it rejects me (again I put this down to emotional issues).

I have been called anorexic, or told all I need to do is eat more. I often scoff when I read people talking about body shaming in a broad sweeping manner, and think if only they knew how much more nuanced it is than that.

I have looked into many of these dietary concepts. I think if it helps a person physically, and emotionally, then it has validity. But I get the issue of wanting to be able to eat socially. That has played a role for me also. We are social creatures.

Thanks for sharing this, and I wish you every success dealing with this issue.

Sort:  

I have come back to this comment probably six times. The reason is that this share is very, very meaningful for me. Being able to relate to others when it comes to the ups and downs of disordered eating is enormously powerful.

The emotional aspect of not being able to hold onto food--I get that. There is a tight relationship between body and mind. Have you read The Body Keeps the Score? That may be of use to you.

I have a whole disjointed history with food, and probably summed it up by saying 'I have a love hate relationship' with food. It's tricky. The biggest issue is always having people just assume i don't eat. Which is the reverse assumption to just thinking large people just eat too much. Without knowing the person how can make that call? I see doctors regularly for serious health issues, and even they tell me I need to eat more. I wish it were that simple.

But these are some of the things that have taught me that perhaps some issues just aren't solvable so easily. Like following a roadmap. It feels like new territory, trying to understand and heal the emotional issues behind these body problems.

Thank you for the book suggestion, I have heard of it, but never read it. But I will read it now. And thank you also for your extremely generous contest prize. I didn't know that was still running, so yes it did come as a surprise. And made my day, so again thank you.

I appreciate your honesty in your posts. Some people don't understand the need to share and help like this, but for those of us that do, it's good to a part of your online community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41