This is How Someone with Depression is Treated

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

I must say more people are taking depression and mental illness seriously than they used to. However there is far more work to be done.

IMG_1668.JPG

Depression is still considered to be a joke compared to cancer, for instance.

This is how a cancer patient is treated:

Cancer patient: Oh it's been a rough day. My illness is really getting the best of me.

Response: Oh you poor thing. You must be so exhausted. Is there anything I can do to help?

Okay and someone who suffers from depression, on the severe end I should add says the same thing.

Individual with depression: Oh it's been a rough day. My illness is really getting the best of me.

Response: You know if you actually got off your lazy butt and exercised you would not find a reason to sulk and feel sorry for yourself all of the time. Grow up. There are others out there that have it far worse than you. At least you don't have cancer so be thankful for that.

If you are a mom or dad blogger, be sure to join Mom Bloggers Steemit Support Facebook Group!

Sort:  

Nice article about depression. Yeah, most people doesn't treat depression as a serious issue until someone dies.

Yeah, I've been on the receiving end of that. I'm dx'ed with mdd. So i feel you. {{Hugs}}
One of my favorites is:
"Oh, everyone gets like that "
To that I say "no this isn't seasonal affective disorder "

Yes that's another one. It's going to be a while before people really do take it as seriously as they must.

Sad but true

Yes mental illness is never treated the same...you don't have to tell me :/ followed, resteemed and upvoted :)

Thanks my friend. There needs to be far more awareness and followed back!

That picture is spooky almost. Like the Joker and Kate Moss had a daughter. Bwahahahahahahaha!

Good glad it's spooky because it's even spookier that very few still take depression as seriously as they need.

"there is nothing wrong it's just between your ears "
although i'm less depressed these days my Agoraphobia is still here and you get same kind of repsons ..

That's tough I'm sorry

no need to be sorry Miriam, it's how it is , but we are moving next month to new house different city closer to nature should make it easier to get outside again.

I always practiced sports, I have a comfortable life and friends. Still, I have episodes of panic and moments of depression. Every day is a struggle, especially against anxiety caused by panic that is not easy to deal with. I've been to psychiatrists and taken medicine, sometimes the medicine works and sometimes it does not. I would say that it's like an inner prison, there are days when you feel helpless in the face of what is happening to you, the people around you think it's laziness, bullshit, they judge you and you notice it in their eyes. In spite of all this, every day I rise and fight against this moment or this illness that reaches millions of people and we just have a few serious or efficient treatments. :/

Thanks for sharing and it's very real and very serious what you are dealing with. Sending you good vibes.

tks for the good vibes and for the post :-)

Depression is just as debilitating as physical cancer is. Physical can heal to the naked eye, but a mental hurt is not seen and dealt with internally. Depression is not to be taken lightly.

You described it well @stephiesawyer and nailed it. Yes.

Congratulations @miriamslozberg! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Ouch. I haven't faced criticisms that severe due to my mood disorder. But I definitely have felt some disconnect in how others perceive me and how I am with the illness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78