You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your Brain Creates Shitty First Drafts of Reality

in #psychology6 years ago

This is hard to read because it is so good and so true.

One quick note. I believe you meant to write "it" instead of "is" here: "Sometimes you adopt the lie that is didn't really hurt or that it was an accident, thereby denying the reality of your felt experience."

I have done this my entire life. I still go to counseling to try to correct many things I learned as a child and it's difficult, but I still often blame myself. I find it easier that way -- to take responsibility for the role I played in a situation instead of casting blame and realizing that I have been wronged by others.

Great piece!

Sort:  

Good eye! You're right about that typo. Thanks for catching it.

I find it easier that way.

I think you're right. It is easier to stick to the routine that we are familiar with. While it is important to not fall into the role of perpetual victimhood, there is a healthy place that allows us to recognize that there there was more going on than what we were responsible for. It is hard work and I am encouraged to hear of your commitment to it.

Thanks, and congrats on the great piece! 341 votes!!

Holy smokes! This is quite the surprise. I know those numbers must be due in in large part to some voting trails because there are only 65 views. I am very grateful for the support though. What's funny to me is how much more easily this post came to me than some of my others. In fact, your advice has a lot to do with it. I've been trying to streamline my message and focusing on a more minimalist formatting style.

Yeah the upvotes came through with the @curie vote as part of the Curie curation trail (@curie / Curie is a curation community with curators looking for posts to submit for review, and reviewers who are former top curators that review and upvote the best submissions).

Ah. That makes sense. That makes sense. I've heard of @curie but this is my first experience getting the curie curation trail. Thanks for the insight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45