---- IN SHADOW - A Modern Odyssey - Animated Short Film - Copes Perspective ----

in #psychology6 years ago

IN SHADOW - A Modern Odyssey


In Shadow – Money

TRIGGER WARNING – The video "In Shadow - A Modern Odyssey" deals with dark themes and represents these dark themes visually and enhances the experience audibly. If you are sensitive to this kind of material it is advised to consider these factors before continuing.


In Shadow – Trigger

Last night I stumbled across this video, it was available in 2017 but it did not reach my eyeballs until last night. It is a short animated film which is around thirteen (13) minutes long. It deals with the subject of the current state of humanity, what its like to live in the modern day world and the emotional content we deal with as human beings.

In Shadow - A Modern Odyssey is quite dark in its themes, so it is definitely recommended to prepare yourself for imagery which may stir an emotional reaction. For me I most definitely felt heavy watching this film, it was like watching a horror flick… but somehow worse. Its not jump scare scary, its that the dark themes are realistic scenarios. The visual imagery had a lump in my throat for a majority of the time the film was playing, this being said I could not pull myself away from viewing this artwork.


In Shadow – Baby

There is no speaking, it is just a musical score which has a tone that completely matches the visuals and enhances the experience. There is a heavy bass line running through the track that resonates through to the core of the soul. It is definitely recommended to have a good set of headphones or a decent stereo hooked up to get the full effect of the tracks nature.

Describing In Shadow - A Modern Odyssey accurately is difficult, there are hidden themes that are uncovered only by the tacit knowledge of having the experience themselves. The culmination of animated visuals with these themes somehow expresses the nature of the events with enough detail to trigger the memory or thought without being explicit in its representation. It is also quite unnerving to not see what may happen next than to see something…. Its like our thoughts can be the worst thing that we experience from observing In Shadow - A Modern Odyssey.


In Shadow – Selfie

In Shadow - A Modern Odyssey really had an effect on me, I went on the ride that this kind of art form asks you to go on, and I most certainly dived into it. I had increased heart rate , lump in my throat, I felt the tears wanting to start to well up, I felt genuine despair. There is also a moment of relief which is fleeting when sacred geometry/ fractal designs come into it. This is a thought provoking expression that had a considerable impact on me. I feel that the subject matter which is the focus of this animated film is some thing that we need consider, observe and change in the world, the beginning of making positive change is acknowledging that there is a problem in the first place.... In Shadow - A Modern Odyssey puts some of these problems into the spotlight. This kind of data and artwork has the ability to awaken people to some of these issues, make us think deeply about these issues, and facilitate the revolution and changes we all hope to see in the world for the better of mankind. Please feel free to let me know what you thought of this and how it affected you in the comments.

Full credit to the films creator:
Director:
Lubomir Arsov
Writer:
Lubomir Arsov

In Shadow - A Modern Odyssey - IMDB link

Sort:  

good stuff!

yep, gets ya thinking don't it ;)

Sure does

Great read and a very interesting perspective of the film!

Thanks for taking the time to read my article and commenting, this film is an incredible reflection of society as it stands at the moment.

Wow!... deep and meaningful.

yes it definitely struck a chord with me

Thanks for sharing the film and giving your perspective. This was well written. Digging your style. I'll be sharing some of my films in the next few weeks. Mind if I tag you to get your perspective?

@emwalker no problem, it was moving and a great experience that i believe is worthwhile sharing. Yeah sure feel free to tag me in, im more than happy to have a look at most art forms. much love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41