You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My FIRST WORLD PROBLEM - Hunger????

in #psychology8 years ago

The problem with food disorders, whether you eat too little or too much is that you're thinking about food ALL THE TIME! It's an addiction or bad habit depending on the severity, I suppose.

I had a very good friend who actually sleep eats. They had to set up a webcam to prove it was HER making the mess in the kitchen when she would yell at the kids in the morning. Frightening!

Emotional eating is definitely hard to overcome because one has to find the base emotion or problem in the first place. And with all the noise we surround ourselves with, it's so hard to find that quiet voice that needs attention. Perhaps the question to ask is: What am I hiding in the fridge/cupboard from? And tackle it head on.

Sort:  

Sleep eating? Yikes. That would be so embarrassing, never mind frightening!
I used to walk in my sleep - one time my mom found me in the laundry room of the apartment building we lived in. Can you imagine the hidden dangers in there??? especially these days....oy.
I usually know what the base emotion is for me...that's half the problem - the other half is cooperating with myself.....that willful part. But you asked a good question in "What's in the cupboard or fridge that I am hiding from". This put a new spin on things....thanks. I already drive myself around the bend with my thoughts.
Good one Mere....good one!!!

I used to sleep walk and have night terrors as a child. I outgrew them when I was about 10 - but if I wasn't terrifying my entire family screaming like I was being murdered, they were wondering where the hell I'd disappeared to (usually behind the couch behind the floor-length curtains). LOL

I'll bet you were adorable....poor thing. Your poor parents must have been terrified when they couldn't find you. Glad you outgrew those.
I know some who still have night terrors as adults. #nonotme
I stopped the sleep walking around that age as well. But I didn't scream like a banshee ....altho I would go mute at times....maybe that's why I overeat so I can complain about weight gain. Probably. Who needs Freud.???

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60944.89
ETH 2608.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67