You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why do some people tend to sabotage themselves?

in #psychology6 years ago

It's either the theme of today, because I just wrote a similar comment on someone else's post, or I kept thinking of about perfectionism (like what you mentioned in your post) and the imposter syndrome.

I think sometimes people self sabotage because of that too, the thought that "I'm not good enough". Researchers have traced it back to our childhood and upbringing, where we may have tried to show we did a good job to our parents and families, and that got suppressed by a negative response. Over time, the self confidence drops, resulting in us thinking we're not good enough.

Just my thoughts. Love the work!

Sort:  

Nice to see you here, I am also involved in this and I am following your progress for a long time. I have people right here on Steemit, trying to help others but they are a mess themselves and I can't find a way to motivate them without changing their poverty and unclear future. How could they be empowered? I am not talking about people having it good, but people struggling with food or sanitary problems that would like to help others but are too broken and depressed to get their act together.

Oh well for that to happen those parents must be very mean and harsh towards their child, because if its simple one time they ignored or responded negatively I would think its not such a big deal, especially towards the long term.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 54635.52
ETH 2893.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03