My Heroes, People Who influence my Life #1: Vanessa Van Edwards

in #psychology6 years ago

Whats poppin, steemit:

Hello people of the internet! Today I thought I would try something little different and a bit more personal. I wanted to write about people that I regard as my heroes. They are people who helped shape me into who I am and to a great extent, they are people that I aspire to. I am sure you can find a common pattern in all of them if you look close enough.

First on the list is a very special woman. She is a human behavior investigator with her own lab, a certified fraud examiner, body language expert, a writer, speaker and most importantly a self-described recovering awkward person. Her name is Vanessa Van Edwards and she is my hero.

I’M VANESSA AND I’M A RECOVERING BORING PERSON

Who is she?

Vanessa is very established in her area of profession. She managed to successfully translate her intrigue and obsession into a carrier and that in turn made me obsess over her and consider her kind of a mentor. She has her own lab and website: The science of people where she studies all kinds of different human behavior and psychology, then she teaches what she had learned from those experiments in her online courses and different books.

Why I love her so Much?

Her insights are profound and her presence on the screen is magnetic in the sense that it mixes charm with down-to-earthness (cut me some slack here, I am a med student not an English major). However, the thing that made me really relate to and connect with her is that in an interview she once mentioned that she used to be so shy an awkward around people and that slowly she started to change and evolve into the person she is now. Not only does this lady have my dream job, but she is a recovering awkward person like I am!!!! Not to mention she also stole my motto:

MY MOTTO: I WANT TO UNDERSTAND WHAT PEOPLE MAKES PEOPLE THEMSELVES. WHY DO WE DO WHAT WE DO AND HOW DO WE DO IT?

HER MOTTO: I’VE ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW HOW PEOPLE WORK. WHAT DRIVES OUR BEHAVIOR? WHY DO PEOPLE ACT THE WAY THEY DO? AND MOST IMPORTANTLY, CAN YOU PREDICT AND CHANGE BEHAVIOR?

CANT YOU SEE THE SIMILARITIES, PEOPLE!!!!

I have watched her courses about body language and lie detection, I am subscribed to her youtube channel and I would love to buy her book “captivate” once it hits the Egyptian market. I have learned a lot from her and the stories that she shares but most importantly she inspires me and gives me hope. I would love to one day meet her in person and if possible have her as a real mentor and guide because I believe in what she has to offer and I believe in the science of people. I will leave you with a few links to some of her speeches as well as her website and youtube channel. I promise you, you are in for a treat.

As always, if you like it please leave an upvote and resteem. If you want to read the rest of the series as soon as its published please follow and as usual tell me what you think in the comments: Do you Vanessa? if so what is your impression of her, if not are you intrigued now? lets have a conversation ...


Watch these:

How to Liberate Yourself from Social Anxiety | Vanessa Van Edwards on Impact Theory

You are contagious | Vanessa Van Edwards | TEDxLondon

Sort:  

This post has received a 26.83 % upvote from @kittybot thanks to: @mahmoud-shafik.

You got a 5.99% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @mahmoud-shafik!

This post has received a 3.73 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @mahmoud-shafik.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50