You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Double-Edged Sword of Movies, Media, & Entertainment: Unintended Consequences That Shaped A War Machine

in #psychology7 years ago

This is why I think epistemology is so important. Thinking through how we come about claiming to have knowledge about something is so important. Does it involved reason, logic, and evidence with an appropriate amount of skepticism? Then maybe we can talk with a bit more confidence and, importantly, we can transfer that information to someone else in a way they can understand it.

Without a good epistemology, people believe all kinds of random stuff which shapes their thoughts and actions if very destructive ways by those who know how to predict outputs given a worldview and a set of programmed inputs.

Sort:  

Luke, did you ever read The Romantic Manifesto? Of all of Ayn Rand's work her essay on epistemology influenced me most. It helps one fine tune their compass, moral or otherwise.

My favorite Rand work is: "Introduction to Objectivist Epistemology". I have read it over and over. At 75 I can reflect it is the most influential philosophy I have read. (Philosophy was my college major.) It helped me understand (analyze) all philosophy. Ayn gave me a "key to the universe".

At 51, I cannot reflect as far, but I agree with your sentiment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33