You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Something I Almost Never Talk About: Being A Parent

in #psychology8 years ago

I enjoyed hanging with @larkenrose at PorcFest talking about all kinds of things, including parenting. I remember his joke well about why they didn't have more than one child (we have three). He laughingly said, "I learn from my mistakes." Still makes me smile. I'm still to this day surprised how the dynamics change from one, to two, and to three. When these little humans without developed mirror neurons start irrationally hurting each other, it can rip your heart out with a spoon. I feel I'm just now getting a handle on non-violent communication well enough to use it more effectively with my kids and they are just starting to get old enough to recognize rational thought and to implement it themselves. It's a beautiful thing to see.

Thanks for sharing your journey and reminding us of the beauty involved in the process.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58984.04
ETH 2551.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35