Terminal Depression took Angie

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

My heart is aching tonight for a young life lost way too soon.

A sweet and gentle soul who was too fragile to take the knocks of life.

Angie made many attempts on her life, twice nearly got it right, but this time succeeded.

dandelion-1931080_1280 (1).jpg

A beautiful soul who I met through my youngest son.

Warren made it his mission to save her from herself for the past eight years, but it was an impossible task.

I am so proud of how he stood by this troubled girl, a platonic friendship nothing more, but life took it toll and her depression spiralled out of control, so yes this sadly was a terminal condition as no cure could be found for darling Angie!

Guys and dolls, please get help if you're feeling abnormally down for no reason day after day, the sooner you're treated the sooner you will be healed!

Life is full of ups and downs but you deserve to have more ups than downs, so do not ignore those feelings of hopelessness!

Help is all around!

Please read this post I wrote a while back on how I managed to conquer this mental illness
Terminal Depression - be a survivor


Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by, please comment, upvote and resteem if you enjoyed my post.
Image Pixabay.
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

I'm so sorry for your loss.
We had similiar news yesterday. My ma se neef het selfmoord gepleeg. Hy is die 5e man in daardie familie wat homself om die lewe gebring het. Sy pa was die twede.
Daar is n baie sterk kliniese depressie lyn in die familie en dit lyk asof dit rondom die ouderdom van tussen 45-50 n peak bereik. Hulle kry dan n breakdown, and they either recover or they don't. My ouma was gereeld in n depressie kliniek. My ma en my oom het albei al hulle breakdowns gehad en my tannie het in Januarie n beroerte gehad.
Die rede dat ek dit vertel is omdat mens nie daaroor praat nie en dan is daar iemand wat nodig gehad het om te hoor hulle is nie alleen nie.
( Ek weet dis nou wel in Afrikaans, maar dis nog te gou om verder daaroor te praat)

Ons, die kleinkinders, weet om versigtig te wees, maar dis so n sneaky siekte wat opbou oor tyd en wanneer jy in die gat is dan onthou jou brein nie die goeie en die lekker in die lewe nie. Ek dink as mens deur n depressie dip gaan wanneer dinge goed gaan dan is dit makliker om uit dit uit te kom, maar wanneer jy n groot lewens terugslag gehad het en nie n pad uit kan sien nie is dit n ander storie, en partykeer is selfs mediese ingyping dan nie genoeg nie. Die vorige persoon was die wonsdag uit die kliniek ontslaan en het die volgende dag sy lewe beeindig

Mens vat dit maar n dag op n slag. Drink jou medisyne, doen jou yoga om uit jou kop uit te kom en jou lyf te ontspan, doen jou stiltetyd, eet regte kos, spaneer tyd met mense. Have a cat. Ek spot my katte is my therapy katte, maar hulle is regtig. Soveel so dat ons hulle saam trek nou Mauritius toe in Junie. My man se werk het n nuwe kantoor oopgemaak en ons gaan vir 2 jaar daar bly. Dis baie exciting maar die trek gaan baie werk wees so ek gaan vir n tyd offline wees. Die katte kan eers in Augustus vlieg so hulle gaan in Tableview bly in n cattery daar totdat hulle al hulle papierwerk het.

In ieder geval. Dit raak nou n koerant :)
Baie sterkte vir julle familie en die vriendin se familie in hierdie tyd.
Groete
Lizelle

Ai Lizelle baie dankie hiervoor, vreeslik jammer oor julle verlies! Dis so n aaklige ding om te verwerk, mens kan dit nie verstaan nie en los soveel vrae!
Dis vreemd, altwee my ouers het geensins depressie gehad nie, dink my ouma dalk want sy het altyd senuwee druppels geneem en gepraat dat haar kop deurmekaar voel by tye, so n liewe liewe mens! Ouma is op 63 aan kanker oorlede.
n Nefie v my pa het jare terug ook selfmoord gepleeg in sy 20s, my broer toe hy 26 was, so ek dink dit kom van daardie kant ook.
My oorlede broer se 2 dogters is altwee bipolar maar met behandeling is hulle albei dol gelukkig vandag met n gesin.
Ek was half geforseer om my medikasie te stop toe hulle dit discontinue, maar was stabiel op daardie stadium en het dit stadig uitgesny met die hulp van n homeopaat. Ek het destyds ook yoga gedoen.
Toe het ek transcendental meditation tegniek geleer en dit help my vandag nog!
Soos jy sê gesond eet en leef, baie belangrik, plus yoga, stap, meditasie ens ens, mense kan nie herstel as hul net op medikasie staatmaak nie.
My kommer is my jongste seun het ook depressie maar is stabiel met die regte medikasie, hierdie slag tref hom egter baie hard, hy het geglo hy kan Angie red!
Die probleem is hy bly in Johannesburg, ons is in Durban, maar my oudste seun is darem ook in Jhb.
Sterkte met julle trek, bly jou kat kinders kan saamtrek, hopelik is jy gou weer online!
Groete v d ou Lizelle xxx

Baie dankie :)

So sad for this loss ..will be praying for you. I also suffered from depression and it is one of the worst type of illness.
With the help from doctors and God..I was able to recover completely.
God bless

I agree totally with you, it's the most horrid illness, I also suffered from depression many years ago and managed to overcome it with medication, meditation, healthy eating, yoga, walking, etc etc and by the grace of God I've been healed! Just so sad that Angie never reached her full potential :(

For someone to not get through the dark cloud, is so sad. Sometimes people can smile but are crying inside.

My condolences to both of you on the loss of your friend. May God bless you both while you work through this time.

Thank you so very much mr Papper, your kind thoughts mean a lot to me, just feel shattered.

Your welcome Lizelle.

This was just so sad to read this morning. It's sad that some people feel that suicide is their only option and I'm sure you are all taking this very hard. Thinking of you all xxx.

Thanks Justine, it is so terribly sad that Angie could not pull out of this, been going on for years, she lost her job recently, company went under, registered another company in her name, long story, then she started getting demands from suppliers, possibly that sent her over the edge, who knows? We're just so so very sad, Warren is totally shattered!

So sorry for your tragic loss. I have personally had this depression as a young person and I know what it can be like. Fortunately for me I stuck through it.
Sending you warm wishes!

Thanks you @carolynstahl, glad you managed to conquer this horrid illness, just so sad that Angie could not!

Oh no @lizelle so sorry. It's so heartwrenching when someone takes their own life, it really is sad that she couldn't find a way to conquer this illness. I hope your son is okay ... Angie was lucky to have someone who cared about her so much. Love to you and your son.

Thank you so very much @leighleigh, really appreciate your words. Angie was lucky to have Warren, in fact with a previous attempt her psychiatrist told him if it wasn't for him, she would not have made it. Just so very sad, she was such a beautiful but immensely troubled girl. Very worried about my son, he used to speak to her daily and alerted her mom on the day as she was not responding to calls and messages. But I do believe she is at peace now!

I hope your son has someone to talk to, who can help him come to terms with this. Sometimes people feel responsible, or that they were inadequate in some way. He needs reassurance that he couldn't have prevented it, I say this because you mentioned she was such a troubled girl. I beg your pardon if I'm being too forward, my husband lost two brothers to suicide and it is still very difficult for him to come to terms with it. Love and peace for you both.

I really appreciate your advice Leigh, so very sorry to hear about your husband's brothers! I know all about the guilt feelings as I also lost a brother to suicide when he was only 26; also thought I could have prevented it. That suicide affected one of my brothers so badly, he went totally off the rails, hardly ever see him these days. Must be so difficult for your husband!
My son is now saying exactly that, he should have done more etc etc! I told him to see a good psychologist for PTSD but he keeps on saying he knows what they will say, has been for counselling himself prior to all this. So yes, I am deeply concerned, he's single but fortunately has great support from his workplace and the one lady assured me they will keep an eye on him, she is his confidante so at least that will help. I will keep on at him to see a professional though. Thanks for your concern x

It's all too common these days, sad to say. I'm sorry for you as well having had to deal with suicide. And it's mostly younger people - the pressures of life are enormous. We were just talking about how fed up we are with the state of the world - work work work, for little pay (usually just enough to pay bills), nothing left to enjoy yourself a bit - well that is the life of most South Africans anyway, and probably most of the world. The younger generation are feeling it. I'm glad your son has someone to talk to at work. Love to you and yours.

Thank you so much, your words mean a lot, love and blessings to you and yours as well xx

My friend must be sad, your son was a savior, maybe that was Angie's destiny even if it's painful, I'm really sorry!
You leave me a nice message, Help is everywhere

Thanks Jenni, I believe you are right and this is what she wanted, just so sad! I do believe she is at peace now!

I am sorry for the loss of this young woman. This must be difficult for your son. Suicide is something that leaves more questions than answers. I love your message: Help is all around.

Thank you @cecicastor, you're right, all those questions that never will be answered. Warren is a strong young man but is understandably shattered!

Very good post about depression Ms. @lizelle

Good information about depression , important for me.

Thank you @steemitalhaq, hope it helps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70