You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Great Ideas? Average Events? Small People?

in #psychology8 years ago

I agree with what you have written here.

I have read this quote, back before there was an internet, attributed to Socrates, in the form of:

“Strong minds discuss ideas, average minds discuss events, weak minds discuss people.”

I have also read Eleanor Roosevelt to have added

“and alas, there are those who talk only of themselves.”.

This seems to be a derivative of the Trivium's grammar, logic, and rhetoric questions of,
who;
what, where, and when;
why, and how.

The type of person being judged by how far they can take the "line" of questioning.

The "alas" people are those who never left the gate.

Sort:  

Hehe, yeah it configures to the Trivium Methodology, I even put it as a tag in the tweet for this post:

https://twitter.com/KrN3l/status/831549438845997056

Good job on picking that up too! ;)

The quote was attributed to Socrates, like has been done to Einstein, and other, to give it a certain aura of authority. But it can't be traced to Socrates.

Thanks for the feedback.

I wish I could remember the book where I first read it. It will eventually come back to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56618.92
ETH 2337.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40