You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Addiction – An Overview

in #psychology6 years ago

The way DSM addresses addiction (focus on substances, negligence of behavior) reminds me of the way traditionalists address psychology (focus on treating the consequences, negligence of positive psychology). Of course, it's not directly comparable, but both are short-sighted in quite a similar way.

Poor little isolated rodents. 😢 I emphasize with them a lot since I recognize myself in them. The emotional states of social anxiety, overall sadness and stressful life have led to my addiction, which fulfills criteria B, C, and E in a very TANGable way. Not that I mind my addition, since I consider it one of the best examples of a rational addiction choice! 😎

Although you've written it in a positive tone, the reply to your reader's comment brings a grim conclusion: since the technology and culture are progressing exponentially fast, our biological evolution will lag behind more and more, which will cause more and more stress in human lives.

From now on, every other Friday is my favorite day of the Steemit two-week. 🍷

Sort:  

Are you the sweetest person on this platform or what? You were the only one to acknowledge the lonely rats! Ohhh...

I am laughing so hard at this:

which fulfills criteria B, C, and E in a very TANGable way. Not that I mind my addition, since I consider it one of the best examples of a rational addiction choice!

Not only are you so sweet, but you are incredibly witty!! 😂

The analogy you made with the DSM and traditional psychology is a painful but accurate one. We seem to live in a world that searches for cure, rather than prevention. And, yes, I do think we are at risk of becoming more and more mentally distressed as a race, for the very reasons you pointed out here. Every 5 years the DSM launches a new revised edition, and the number of mental disorders only increase.

Not everyone is smart enough to allocate some time for dancing @lifenbeauty 😊
All the best to you my dear :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42