You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spanking Children is an Unconscious Act of Vengeance

in #psychology8 years ago

I was spanked as a child and I do not spank my own child. I can look back on my childhood and remember being spanked, but can't tell you one single thing I was spanked FOR. Like the deed that was punished has gone out of my mind entirely. I just remember being terrified and in pain. And I remember hating my father. And I remember being afraid of him...AND I STILL AM. To me, that's not healthy. My daughter is now ten and we did not employ spanking as one of our disciplinary measures. She is a straight A kid, very kind, very ambitious, and we are close. We still have our teen years to weather, but so far I don't think spanking would have added anything good to our relationship.

Sort:  

Well said. I am especially glad you shared your own parenting style, and decided not to spank your child. That means a lot. I am also sorry you had to deal with what happened to you. That is awful, but I am glad you realized that it was not healthy, and now you are not repeating the vicious cycle on your own child.

That's the difference I was talking about your father was assaulting a child not lightly spanking you because you had done something wrong. Pain shouldn't be the objective reinforcing rules is

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44