The Male Beard: An Evolutionary Explanation

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever wondered why men are able to grow a beard and what purpose they serve?

beard d (1).jpg

Source

I have been pondering this concept for some time now and in my mind, there must be some sort of evolutionary reason for men being able to grow a beard. It must serve some sort of purpose.

In this article, I view the issue of beards through an evolutionary perspective and offer an explanation as to why humans can grow beards. I have done very little research on the subject and have no direct evidence to back up the arguments that I put forward, so please feel free to argue my points or offer alternative explanations.

Body Hair Serves a Function


When we look at body hair, it is easy to see that some places on our bodies have much more hair than others. The reason for this is quite simple; we have extra hair in the areas of our bodies where 1) we lose the most body heat (ie. our heads) and 2) to avoid chafing (ie. arm pits and pelvic/groin region). These are common traits shared by both sexes of the human species in that both males and females typically grow extra hair in these regions. Since women grow hair in all the same places that men do, we can reasonably conclude that body hair serves a similar purposes in both sexes.

However, the beard is different. In general, only men can grow a beard which suggests that the beard has a different purpose that only pertains to males. It is possible that the male beard serves a physical protective function, such as providing extra facial protection to earlier hunters or perhaps combating individuals.

However, I personally believe that the beard serves a social function in that sends information to members of the social group about the individual. To explain this concept further I will use the example of the male African lion and its mane.

The Human Beard Much like the Lions Mane


crop.jpg

Source

The mane of the male adult lion is believed to serve many functions. For starters, it makes the lion appear larger and more intimidating, which aids them during confrontations with other competing lions. However, it also serves a social function by providing information about the individual to other members of its group. For instance, the presence or absence of a mane, its thickness, length, and coloring are all determined by genetic preconditioning, sexual maturity, and testosterone production. In fact, as a general rule, the darker and fuller the mane, the healthier the lion. With these factors in mind, the mane is also believed to serve the function of attracting female lions, as it is an indicator of the male lion’s health, genetics, and possibly dominance in nature. Studies even show that female lions favor males with darker and denser manes.

The Beard as a Social Indicator


I think that the beard serves a similar purpose in humans as it does lions. I believe that it acts as an indicator of an individual’s health, maturity, and possibly even social dominance. As such, it likely provides signals to other members of the group, which may not be realized on a conscious level, but none the less reach potential mates and competing males on a primitive sub-conscious level. With this in mind, it is also possible that in today's society, there are social advantages as well as disadvantages for having a beard.

Advantages and Disadvantages


The beard could be an advantage in dating situations. If the man is able to grow a thick dark beard, this may indicate measures of health, maturity and dominance to potential mates and may make the man appear more attractive to the opposite sex. Similar indicator traits like the beard and the mane tend to be common in nature. For instance, male peacocks tend to have ridiculously large and colorful tail feathers that serve no other function than to attract female mates.

The beard could also be an indicator of intimidation to other males which would be an advantage in sports or professional fighting situations or even if the individual finds themselves in a jail or prison.

sports (1).jpg

Source

On the other hand, having a beard could be a disadvantage if it subconsciously intimidates other males. For instance, during a job interview, it may be a disadvantage to have a beard if on a primitive sub-conscious level it evokes an intimidating message to the employer. Also, salesman may not want to intimidate potential clients and a person in court may not want to appear intimidating to a jury. In these cases the beard would be a disadvantage.

Conclusion


Though I offer a possible explanation for the function and purpose of the male beard, I am sure that there is more to this particular evolutionary story. Also keeping in mind the fact that the human species is constantly evolving (both physically and socially) it is hard to determine if the beard serves the same function today as it did thousands of years ago. However, the full beard has made a major comeback recently in terms of facial hair fashion which makes me wonder how others view the beard and what their opinions are regarding the advantages and disadvantages of growing a beard in today’s society.

Feel free to comment or discuss :)
A female perspective would be interesting to hear.


Thanks for Reading

follow_leaky20.gif

Sort:  

So the beard's sole evolutionary purpose is to look awesome?
Sounds about right...
beard.png

hahaha that is an epic beard. The upkeep on that thing would be insane. Pretty incredible though

Upvoted and resteemed. Do you want to know why? Visit @pf-coin. ;-)

My wife both loves and hates my beard. I grew mine after I got out of the military and just let it go. Was epic, bushy and full. But, after a couple of years, I got bored with and shaved it. Although now I'm growing it back, I'll be keeping it neat and trim. The beard both fascinates and intimidates. I always got compliments on it, from men and women. I think the beard throws people off, because as humans, we're biologically wired to read faces, and beards cover such a large area of the face. Thanks for the interesting read.

The beard both fascinates and intimidates. I always got compliments on it, from men and women.

I wholeheartedly believe those statements. The longest that I have ever grown my beard out was for about a month and a half. It was too much of a pain for me and my mustache and chin came in red while my cheeks were dark. It didn't really suit me. So I can definitely appreciate a good beard. They are a lot of work and not everyone's grows in full or consistent so it is impressive when you see a good one.

That is very interesting what you said about it throwing people off because it makes reading the persons emotions more challenging. I had never thought of that but I get what you are saying. You are completely right that we are wired to read faces. hmm very interesting. I am going to keep thinking about that. Thanks for sharing :)

No problem! I've been diving into the brain of late, with research into psychedelics. And there are quite a few interesting studies that tackle how the brain reacts to different facial expressions; anger, happy, sad. When the brain sees an angry face, or a depressive face, it signals the amygdala, and sets off a chain of reactions. I touch on it here, Conquering Fear!
Here was my beard, just a few short months ago!

beard.jpg

That's an impressive beard.
I'm big into psychology and psychedelics as well. I'll have to check out your post. It sounds interesting.

As a female, both inter and between subject comparisons in my mind, I do prefer facial hair. I like best when a guy is able to pull off clean shaven but still wears at least a little scruff. I have come to want to feel his facial hair against my skin and lips. And I personally am drawn to darker conplexions... Guess I haven't evolved much! haha

I have heard/read similar preferences from other females. I have also heard that preferences can change throughout the course of a relationship in that some females are drawn to facial hair and thick beards when dating and in the early stages of a relationship but then they tend to prefer clean shaven or light scruff later on in the relationship. There will always be personal preference at play as well as evolutionary mechanisms at work with any aspect of life. Thanks for sharing your perspective :)

It is a trend now here in Nigeria for men to grow beards.. They are referred to as the 'beard gang'... They do this partly because they think women are more attracted to guys with beard... They aren't too fast from the truth...

the beard gang

That's pretty funny.
Thanks for the comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65560.09
ETH 3467.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68